Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14
    Like Tree3Likes

    SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

    This is a discussion on SkyHD multiroom box and wifi? within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Sorry if this is a daft one, but I have one of my skyHD boxes in the family room. I ...

    1. #1
      GordonM's Avatar
      GordonM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Bipac8800AXL
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      Sorry if this is a daft one,
      but I have one of my skyHD boxes in the family room. I also have a spare Sky wifi adapter.

      The SkyHD box has a network connection, but obviously it has no recording facility, so can't do on-demand, even if it is connected to my home network. So, the question is, is there nay benefit/use in plugging in the wifi adaptor, or is about as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike?

      It does kinda beg the question, why is there even a network port on the back of a basic multiroom SkyHD box?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hedgehog1979's Avatar
      Hedgehog1979 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01506
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HDw box X2
      Join Date
      Mar 2013
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      298
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 32 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      The network connection is not used for anything just now.

      The only benefit I could think of is that if your boxes are required to be connected to a phone line due to multiscreen you could remove the telephone lead and use the wireless adapter to do the callback thus removing a cable run.

      If your multiscreen was installed after a certain date it does not need to be connected to the phone line so then there would be no benefit in connecting it. I can't remember the date of the top of my head though.


      Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,200
      Thanks
      842
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      What about the on-line search features?

      Also I believe that you can link the Sky+ app to the SkyHD STBs.

      There were rumours of another feature but sadly they have died a death and nothing materialised.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,488
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      The SkyHD STBs are Digital Living Network Alliance (DLNA) compatible. There is an option under Parental Control to share information on these boxes. It is also possible to use the network interface to change channel but unfortunately the current Sky+ App only searches for Sky+ HD boxes.

    6. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,488
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      For anyone running Linux here is a short command line programme written in C that will toggle a network connected Sky HD (or Sky+ HD) box between On & Standby:
      Code:
      #include <sys/socket.h>
      #include <sys/types.h>
      #include <netinet/in.h>
      #include <netdb.h>
      #include <stdio.h>
      #include <string.h>
      #include <stdlib.h>
      #include <unistd.h>
      #include <errno.h>
      #include <arpa/inet.h>
        
      int main(int argc, char *argv[])
      {
        int sockfd = 0,nin = 0,nout = 0,l = 12;
        char recvBuff[32];
        char sendBuff[9] = {4,1,0,0,0,0,224,0}; 
        struct sockaddr_in serv_addr;
        if(argc < 2)
          {
            printf("\n Usage %s Sky box IP address\n", argv[0]);
            return 0;
          }
        memset(recvBuff, '0' ,sizeof(recvBuff));
        if((sockfd = socket(AF_INET, SOCK_STREAM, 0))< 0)
          {
            printf("\n Error : Could not create socket \n");
            return 1;
          }
        serv_addr.sin_family = AF_INET;
        serv_addr.sin_port = htons(49160);
        serv_addr.sin_addr.s_addr = inet_addr(argv[1]);
        
        if(connect(sockfd, (struct sockaddr *)&serv_addr, sizeof(serv_addr))<0)
          {
            printf("\n Error : Connect Failed \n");
            return 1;
          }
        while (1)
        {
          nin = read(sockfd, recvBuff, 31); 
          if( nin < 0)
            {
              printf("\n Read Error \n");
            }
          if (nin < 24)
          {
            nout = write(sockfd, recvBuff, l);
            if( nout < 0)
              {
                printf("\n Write Error \n");
              }
            l = 1;
          }
          else
          {
            nout = write(sockfd, sendBuff, 8); 
            if( nout < 0)
              {
                printf("\n Write Error \n");
              }
            sendBuff[1] = 0;
            nout = write(sockfd, sendBuff, 8); 
            if( nout < 0)
              {
                printf("\n Write Error \n");
              }
            close(sockfd);
            return 0;
          }
        }
      }
      Unfortunately it does not work on Windows due to the different way Microsoft handles sockets.
      Scubbie likes this.

    7. #6
      Jigsta's Avatar
      Jigsta is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2015
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      Many thanks for this seawright, really interesting - works great on my raspberry pi!

      Is the service on TCP port 49160 documented anywhere? I'd be interested to understand the protocol better.

    8. #7
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      I'll look to porting that for windows over the next few days; I think work might get in the way though so it might take a little longer.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    9. #8
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,488
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      Quote Originally Posted by Jigsta View Post
      Many thanks for this seawright, really interesting - works great on my raspberry pi!

      Is the service on TCP port 49160 documented anywhere? I'd be interested to understand the protocol better.
      I don't know of anywhere that the API is documented but I have written a windows version in C# for a full remote control: Virtual remote control that includes full source code so you could glean a lot from browsing that. Alternatively you might like to check out this programme on Source Forge: https://sourceforge.net/projects/skyhdremote/

    10. #9
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      Very interesting read...

      I assume there is no way of firing a direct channel number at the box, such as 502, you have to send them as individual numbers?

      Reason I ask is it is simpler to fire off a preset number in one go rather than fire three individual numbers.

      There must be a way of doing that though, as the iPad and Android Sky apps can just go straight to a channel... I dont recall seeing numbers come up on the screen when selected.

      I wish they would release the API for that bit.

      p.s. after seeing that you've already done a c# version I'll not bother doing a windows c++ port.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    11. #10
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,488
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 386 Times in 376 Posts

      Re: SkyHD multiroom box and wifi?

      The IPad and Android Sky apps use DLNA for selecting channels using a "Play" function. The channel ID parameter used by this function bears no resemblance to the Channel number as displayed in the EPG.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION