Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Sky Feed Issue

    This is a discussion on Sky Feed Issue within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; Hi guys Many years ago I have some sky aerial feeds wired to other tvs from the main box. These ...

    1. #1
      JamieIntel's Avatar
      JamieIntel is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Feed Issue

      Hi guys

      Many years ago I have some sky aerial feeds wired to other tvs from the main box. These feeds were connected to eyes and then straight into the television and I never had any problems, the sky channel was tuned to channel 66 on analog tv. But since the digital switchover or at least i think its since then the picture still works fine but the sound is distorted. Ive searched all over the internet for the answer to why this is, I have also spoke to sky but they gave me little help.


      Any help on this would be much appreciated thank you


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,083
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Feed Issue

      Take a look at the channel numbers that are being used to broadcast Freeview in your area.

      I found earlier this year that mine had changed and that this was causing me specific issues with being unable to receive some Freeview channels.

      A little bit of googling will find the relevant pages on the BBC website.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Feed Issue

      It is a long time since Sky went digital so I doubt that has anything to do with your problem. Try changing your RF Out channel to 68 and make sure the power is ON. Retune the TVs to that channel

      If that does not help, you say you have several TVs connected so you must be running through some kind of splitter. I would check that this is not the cause of your problem. Disconnect the main feed and connect it directly to one of the TV inputs, see if that helps. If it does your splitter is playing up and probably will need replaced.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,083
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sky Feed Issue

      Both analogue & digital terrestrial TV broadcasts within the same radio spectrum. Whilst their signals are very different, they have to be on different channels in any given area and shouldn't be too close to a neighbouring area too.

      The Sky STBs re-broadcast their signals in the same range.

      I can't recall the thread title, but a few months ago I did make a suggestion for someone to re-tune their STB away from the local frequencies and this resolved the issue.

      I don't know about the OP's area, but if channel 68 doesn't work, then other channels need to be tried as well until a clear point is reached.

      My suggestion was to do the homework first then tune the Sky STB to a clear area.

      Rowbridge, the main transmitter on the Isle of Wight, which covers where I live, currently uses channels between 21 and 37. I used to use channel 40 for my Sky STB but now use 50 as 37 was added and caused problems. 68 would be fine in my case.

      Once the analogue channels are switched off I don't know what channel it will transmit on as I haven't been following the others around the country to see if there is a pattern.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Feed Issue

      I don't know about the OP's area
      Same as yours Scubbie, Templecombe I believe. I think it is likely to be a splitter issue.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: Sky Feed Issue

      Quote Originally Posted by JamieIntel View Post
      But since the digital switchover or at least i think its since then the picture still works fine but the sound is distorted.
      Here's a simple test: Disconnect the TV aerial cable from the Sky Digibox aerial input. If this fixes the fault, it's caused by interference from a Freeview multiplex.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION