Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

    This is a discussion on Sky remote volume control suddenly not working within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; It was working earlier today, and we haven't touched a thing! I've changed batteries and checked that the remote's IR ...

    1. #1
      antonm's Avatar
      antonm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      It was working earlier today, and we haven't touched a thing!

      I've changed batteries and checked that the remote's IR LED works (with a digital camera).

      I've turned off the Sky box and the TV, waited a while, and turned them back on again (which usually fixes occasional no-sound problems), but to no avail.

      The other buttons on the remote seem to work (but I haven't tested exhaustively) -- only the volume controls don't.

      The light on the Sky box blinks when other remote buttons are pressed, but not when the volume controls are pressed.

      Grateful for any help!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Is the tv turning off using the 'off' button on the Sky remote? Press 'tv' then the off button.
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    4. #3
      antonm's Avatar
      antonm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Wow... that was quick! Thank you.

      I tried what you suggested -- pressing "TV" and then the off button on the remote. The Sky box's light flickered when I pressed "TV", but the TV did not turn off.

    5. #4
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,765
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 18 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Your remote has lost it's programing then. You will have to reprogram the code in for your make of TV. This can happen if the batterys have been removed from the remote for more than a few minutes.

      Common TV Codes for your Sky Remote

    6. #5
      antonm's Avatar
      antonm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Thank you! -- I'll try that tomorrow.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,196
      Thanks
      107
      Thanked 367 Times in 300 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Quote Originally Posted by antonm View Post
      Wow... that was quick! Thank you.
      That's exactly what his missus says.


      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      antonm's Avatar
      antonm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      I programmed the RCU for our Toshiba TV using the information you so kindly provided.

      The RCU turns the TV on and off, but I still cannot adjust the TV's volume using the RCU. Also, I didn't test whether or not I could turn the TV on/off with the RCU before I programmed it this evening, so I can't be 100% sure that what I did actually achieved anything.

      Evidently the RCU does talk to the TV, as it can turn it on/off.

      Is there anything else I could do to get the volume control working?

      Many thanks for your patience!

    9. #8
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Looks like the contacts under the volume buttons are contaminated or just plain duff, with use. I had this problem with my Sky HD remote, so I opened it up and cleaned the offending area.

      See:

      My remote control handset won't work
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    10. #9
      Kenedin's Avatar
      Kenedin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0131
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD Thomson
      Join Date
      Oct 2008
      Location
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Posts
      2,414
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 91 Times in 84 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      That's exactly what his missus says.
      More like.......The Way We Were ....great song
      Panasonic TX-P50G10B, Onkyo HTS 3305, Sky+HD Thomson 4E3007 (with upgraded PSU & WD5000AVDS HDD),

    11. #10
      antonm's Avatar
      antonm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky remote volume control suddenly not working

      Quote Originally Posted by Kenedin View Post
      Looks like the contacts under the volume buttons are contaminated or just plain duff, with use. I had this problem with my Sky HD remote, so I opened it up and cleaned the offending area.

      See:

      My remote control handset won't work
      I've no qualms about tinkering, as long I'm moderately confident that I won't actually knacker the kit!

      I've looked at the link you gave, but it describes a slightly different model of RCU from the one I've got here (mine's got a wee label which says "Sky rev. 8", if that's any help). It has a crosshead screw amidships, just north of the batteries, under the compartment lid, which I've unscrewed. I slipped a shiv in the seam on one side to try to get the two halves to part, but there's a lot of fairly determined resistance fore and aft.

      Am I missing any other screws?

      And -- would it be a better idea to simply get a new RCU?

      Edit: It's okay -- I got it! There's another screw under the IR LED cover (which is the devil's own job to remove) -- undid that and all resistance crumbled. I took off the rubber mat and rubbed the contacts really hard with a piece of cheap loo paper (cheap = rough!), and now it works.

      Here's another link to how to undo it all.

      Thanks everyone, for your help!
      Last edited by antonm; 07-01-10 at 08:46 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO