Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

    This is a discussion on Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?) within the Sky & Sky+ TV forums, part of the Other Sky help and support category; My sky box won't connect via the telephone line, which means the box wont call back and I can't use ...

    1. #1
      Boothy223's Avatar
      Boothy223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      My sky box won't connect via the telephone line, which means the box wont call back and I can't use box office or interactive services.

      I have a broadband set-up (Tiscali) with a wireless router. I have the filter plugged into the phone socket in the wall with the sky/phone-line + router plugged into the filter. I have spoken to technical support at sky and the guy said that I needed to filter the sky before connecting to the main phone socket (something to do with the SKy box being a dial-up connection) - which I have done but it is says "telephone line busy" when I try a system test, even with the router disconnected. I have never had any problems with the broadband or phone-line connnections, but can't seem to get the box to connect at all.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,839
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,461 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      Have you tried an ordinary phone in the socket to check if it is actually working?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    4. #3
      Boothy223's Avatar
      Boothy223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      The actual phone socket is fine, both the landline and broadband work OK. It is just the sky connection I can't seem to sort out

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      Could someone have changed the call back number that is in the setup? I remember a recent thread where someone was advised to do this to stop the kids booking things and spending a fortune, I suppose it could also be done by accident.

    6. #5
      Boothy223's Avatar
      Boothy223 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01373
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      It is possible I suppose, I will have a look. I know that I had a standard BT landline before and the box has not called back properly since I swapped over to the broadband. The tech support at sky explained the need for a filter because it was now a broadband line.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      31,839
      Thanks
      50
      Thanked 1,493 Times in 1,461 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      If you plug the Sky box into the phone socket on it's own, no filter, does it work? If it does I would be inclined to leave it that way and just plug in when you want to order box office. There is a good chance that it is the filters that are not working as they should and if this is the case, they could also be effecting your broadband, although you don't realize it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      Inssider / TCPOptimiser /Test Socket





    8. #7
      slinky's Avatar
      slinky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      114
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      The sky box plugged into the phone socket on its own wont work will it? I thought it is the line that is converted to carry the ADSL and therefore the analogue phone signal has to be filtered to work.
      I would unplug the phone which is thought to be working and see if the sky box works then.

    9. #8
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      Unplug the sky box from the extension and plug a phone in there to see if that works.

    10. #9
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      Quote Originally Posted by slinky View Post
      The sky box plugged into the phone socket on its own wont work will it?
      Certainly will yes, putting adsl service onto a line doesn't mean services dependant on that line won't work any more without a filter, the filters are just there to separate the telephony and ADSL services on the line so that they do not impact each other.

    11. #10
      Ke1th's Avatar
      Ke1th is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Box won't call back. (Filter problem?)

      Is your telephone number with held? Their is a dialling prefix you can enter in the settings menu if it is. Sevices > System Setup > 0 > 1 > Select > 3.
      Last edited by Ke1th; 23-09-08 at 09:35 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO