Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

    This is a discussion on sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; Hi I am thinking about leaving sky could I still use the box for recording and use the box for ...

    1. #1
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Hi I am thinking about leaving sky could I still use the box for recording and use the box for freeview or freesat if I leave. Thanks in advance.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sdd's Avatar
      sdd
      sdd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01268
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER115
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      273
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Quote Originally Posted by 5amp View Post
      Hi I am thinking about leaving sky could I still use the box for recording and use the box for freeview or freesat if I leave. Thanks in advance.
      AFAIK you have to pay something like 10 a month to record free sat.


      Nobody is Perfect.....I am Nobody....Therefore I am Perfect

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to sdd For This Useful Post:

      5amp (28-12-18)

    5. #3
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      858
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      When I left Sky I bought a Humax freesat box. It cost about 170 (around 8 months' Sky subs) and was about the best deal I ever made. I just plugged the satellite feeds in and it worked right out of the box.

    6. #4
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Do you mean it will cost me 10 to use recording facility and I will get Freesat programs (mostly freeview +a few more) do I get a viewing card?.

    7. #5
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,451
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 377 Times in 367 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      The Sky+ recording facility would be activated on your existing viewing card. If you no longer had the card there would be an additional one off charge of 25 for a new Freesat from Sky viewing card.

    8. #6
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Could I still record freesat programs with the new card

    9. #7
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,451
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 377 Times in 367 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Quote Originally Posted by 5amp View Post
      Could I still record freesat programs with the new card
      You would still require a Sky+ subscription which comes free with a viewing subscription but without one incurs a monthly charge.

      If you do leave Sky but are interested in receiving offers to return, ensure that you set your marketing preferences to allow Sky to contact you. Recent offers have not been as good as those prior to the introduction of Sky Q but you may still get an offer where you get a basic viewing package (including Sky 1 and Sky Atlantic) for not much more than the 10 monthly Sky+ charge.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to seawright For This Useful Post:

      5amp (31-12-18)

    11. #8
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      When I left Sky I bought a Humax freesat box. It cost about 170 (around 8 months' Sky subs) and was about the best deal I ever made. I just plugged the satellite feeds in and it worked right out of the box.
      Hi how easy is it to record like sky you press the r button whats freesat?

    12. #9
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      858
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Hi how easy is it to record like sky you press the r button whats freesat?
      With my model, you highlight the programme you want to record in the programme guide, press OK and you get the option to record a single programme or the whole series (if there is one).

      Freesat are the programmes and channels transmitted by satellite that don't require a subscription to watch. The channels are similar to those on Freeview, but not exactly the same - some more, some less.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to FelixTCat For This Useful Post:

      5amp (31-12-18)

    14. #10
      5amp's Avatar
      5amp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: sky unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Location
      near bury lancs
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: sky+ hd box for recordng and freesat

      Is there more channels on Freeview or freesat?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION