Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    SKY in a Static Caravan

    This is a discussion on SKY in a Static Caravan within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; Hello I want to set up SKY in my Static Caravan but only for the 8 months a year it ...

    1. #1
      Humberstunner's Avatar
      Humberstunner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      SKY in a Static Caravan

      Hello

      I want to set up SKY in my Static Caravan but only for the 8 months a year it is open. Is there a contract I can join to do this?

      The home does not have a telephone line but does have a permanent address and postcode.

      Simon


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: SKY in a Static Caravan

      Skys contract is 12 months, you don't need a phone line but may have to pay a one off 25 for this.

      You can always take the receiver with you if needed for the other 4 months or if you just want FreeSat channels you can just buy the card with no contract.

    4. #3
      Dmc's Avatar
      Dmc
      Dmc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: SKY in a Static Caravan

      Just take your box up to the caravan when you go.

      I have a dish installed at the van (with quad LNB) and leave a spare power cable and HMDI lead in place and have a spare remote. All I need to do is unplug the box at home and plug in at the caravan. I figure I'm paying sky 50+ per month for it so I'm enititled to take it where I like!

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: SKY in a Static Caravan

      I think the OP may hire out the caravan during the season and wants to put in Sky for the benefit of his customers. If this is the case he would have to be careful as Sky may class it as commercial use and charge accordingly. He would be better saying nothing and simply apply to have Sky installed at the particular address. The minimum contract period is 12 months initially, but in subsequent years he may manage to cancel and reinstate the supply when he wishes.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      nige1983's Avatar
      nige1983 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MRDEN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2010
      Location
      Manchester
      Posts
      182
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: SKY in a Static Caravan

      As stated above best way forward. IN the months when know one is there just downgrade to the lowest package (19.25 a mnth i think). After the first 12 months can be cancelled and reinstated then when the site is closed.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION