Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

    This is a discussion on Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please! within the Sky / Sky+ / Sky+ HD forums, part of the Joining or leaving Sky category; Hi, I have been reading up on how to do the installation, as I want a sky+ box in my ...

    1. #1
      theripcurlgirl's Avatar
      theripcurlgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      Hi,

      I have been reading up on how to do the installation, as I want a sky+ box in my bedroom, as well as downstairs, and don't want to pay Sky 200, and I want to check that I have all the kit I need. I have enough extra socket/holes in the satellite dish for the cables and a handy man with a big drill but is the rest right? Anything else?

      Twin Satellite Shotgun Cable
      4 F-connectors
      Many cable clips
      Sky+ box
      Scart lead
      Sky remote

      Is this it? Any more connectors or anything?

      Thanks!!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      That should be all, you dont need the shotgun cable if you find it hard to get hold of you can just use 2 standard satellite cables.

      You may want a bit of self amalg tape to seal the f plugs on the quad LNB and a bit of silicoln to seal the hole in the wall.

      oh, and obviously a multiroom card paired to your receiver.

    4. #3
      theripcurlgirl's Avatar
      theripcurlgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      Hi, Thanks Smithy99

      I can get 20m shotgun cable, 4 F-connectors and cable clips for 15 on ebay.

      Is the LNB simply a case of 'reveal the copper in the cable and shove in the hole'? Sorry, new to this techo stuff!

      I'm guessing once done, I simply phone Sky for a card and to activate multiroom on my account?

      Also, what about a phone line- I've been told I need it connected to my phone line!?

      Thanks

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      Yes, you must have both receivers connected to a working phone line or run the risk of being charged 2 x the full Sky subscription.

      I would recommend using a local installer to do the work for you if you are not 100% sure of how to fit the connectors as you could damage one or both receivers if you get it wrong.

    6. #5
      theripcurlgirl's Avatar
      theripcurlgirl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      It's ok, I've been told to find out 'how' and buy what i need and my very handy Dad will do the rest :-) I'm going nowhere near it!

      I will be buying a telephone extension cable too then, to run it off one in another room!

      Thanks for your help.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Installing Sky+ Multiroom myself, guidance please!

      Remember to use an ADSL filter in the phone socket

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO