Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 83
    Like Tree14Likes

    New sky Q box

    This is a discussion on New sky Q box within the Sky Rumour Mill forums, part of the Sky news and announcements category; The telegraph have added a second story based around Sky Q Sky is unlikely to fall with switch to the ...

    1. #21
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub (no Sky Q here, hub is for sky+hd and sky broadband)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,340
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 110 Times in 103 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      The telegraph have added a second story based around Sky Q
      Sky is unlikely to fall with switch to the Q-factor - Telegraph


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub (no Sky Q here, hub is for sky+hd and sky broadband)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,340
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 110 Times in 103 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Quote Originally Posted by SadBloke View Post
      Are you sure your TV broadcasts wifi? All the smart TVs I've seen use DLNA to act as a media server across the network they are connected to. So the network router is doing most of the work, it picks up the stream from the TV and sends it to the connected device. I can't see Sky putting wifi routers into their Sky+ boxes when they have the connectivity to the Sky Hub.
      The protocol that is used is called DIAL (Discovery and Launch). It powers Netflix, Google Chromecast, Samsung and Sony smart tv/players and also is used in the nowtv and the sky set top box (well those photos I assume anyway).
      Of course it works alongside uPnP and SSDP plus the http protocols.
      A useful background of DIAL here and here

      Of course each device or box manufacturer will have its own sdk (aka google chromecast sdk), so third parties can create their own functionality to their app.

      DNLA is used as the main sharing of media on devices like the Sony playstation, Xbox and media servers, but of course many devices can also share media via dlna, but not used for the casting.
      Last edited by lettice; 27-07-15 at 08:26 AM.

    4. #23
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      493
      Thanks
      14
      Thanked 19 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      More info http://www.telegraph.co.uk/finance/c...-Q-factor.html


      --
      Sent from my iPad Air 2 (wi-fi 128GB) using Tapatalk

    5. #24
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      474
      Thanks
      45
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Considering the data rates that are projected to be used, a 5Ghz could well be needed. However, in older houses just through one brick wall the rate would then become unacceptable. I do hope its not a case of 'I know what I'm doing, don't confuse me with the facts'!

    6. #25
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Don't think that The Telegraph mentioned that the SkyQ will be their new 4K box to compete with BT http://www.engadget.com/2015/07/27/s...g-skyq-4k-box/

    7. #26
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub (no Sky Q here, hub is for sky+hd and sky broadband)
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      1,340
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 110 Times in 103 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      That telegraph journalist has sort of had sky confirm his story on his twitter account;
      Shout out to the Sky person on here who confirmed my story this morning before deleting their tweet.
      https://twitter.com/cg_williams/stat...85864459030528

    8. #27
      JPL's Avatar
      JPL
      JPL is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Brookwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      286
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      I would be very interested in upgrading to the new box as soon as it becomes available, provided that it has a wired Ethernet connection and there is a reliable method of transferring recordings from my current box. Otherwise I'll wait until I have no other choice.
      JPL

    9. #28
      Meteosat's Avatar
      Meteosat is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Porthcawl (S.Wales)
      Broadband ISP: BT INFINITY
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      474
      Thanks
      45
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Quote Originally Posted by mikelane View Post
      Don't think that The Telegraph mentioned that the SkyQ will be their new 4K box to compete with BT Sky will reportedly launch its 'SkyQ' 4K box within weeks
      Then I don't really see the point if it isn't

    10. #29
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      2,918
      Thanks
      60
      Thanked 319 Times in 310 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Being able to record four programmes at once (assuming off-air) will require four satellite feeds, so a maximum of two Q boxes from one dish unless quatro LNBs and multiswitches are being fitted as standard.

    11. #30
      vfx's Avatar
      vfx
      vfx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub 2 SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD x4 MS
      Join Date
      Sep 2014
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      194
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New sky Q box

      Quote Originally Posted by lettice View Post
      The new box will be wireless only so I'm hearing, but makes sense if its redoing the current multiscreen way.
      No! Why? All my boxes are connected via Ethernet.

      Quote Originally Posted by gymno View Post
      Wireless only would be very silly, even if it's AC & 5Ghz.

      I want my ethernet!
      ^^


      I'll bet the new box is over 250.

     

     
    Page 3 of 9 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2014. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION | SEO by vBSEO