Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wireless card ?

    This is a discussion on Wireless card ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; No wanting to be a complete plum, but I don't know so I'll have to ask. I have read the ...

    1. #1
      SilverJDM's Avatar
      SilverJDM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Forest Park, Bracknell
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wireless card ?

      No wanting to be a complete plum, but I don't know so I'll have to ask.

      I have read the 'Sky Router Setup/Configuration Guide' & I understand that I should use the LAN cable for the set up, but.....
      1. Does anybody have any suggestions for what wireless card I should use & how easy are these to install?
      2. Once I have the wireless card installed, can I then move the router next to the BT phone socket? (At the moment I'm using a 10M phone extension lead as I can't get my PC any closer to the BT socket)

      Brgds


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      hello SilverJDM no your not a plum
      it doesnt have to be a wireless card a wireless usb dongle would be just as good anything on this page and the others should be ok
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    4. #3
      vishal's Avatar
      vishal is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kenton Road (LWKROA)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      NW London
      Posts
      268
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      once you are setup it is fine to move it to the bt phone socket.

      you dont have to have the ethernet plugged in if you are going to just use wireless.

      if you dont already have a wireless card/dongle, sky can supply these for a decent price.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site SilverJDM

      If you don't want to take your PC to pieces then a USB Wireless Network Adaptor would do a great job and easy to install and setup.

      The site SatDisk sent you to has a good one on it Dlink DWL-G122 54M USB2 Wireless Adaptor with Cradle I have that one on my daughters PC and it works great.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You don't actually need to use a wired connection to set it up, for what it's worth. It'll work absolutely fine with wireless (tho obviously you need a working wireless connection first).

    7. #6
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Don't forget if you want 108MB wireless you will have to use use a netgear 108mb card other brands of 108mb will just default to 54mb.

    8. #7
      fly4fun's Avatar
      fly4fun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      On the Eastenders Map
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      Don't forget if you want 108MB wireless you will have to use use a netgear 108mb card other brands of 108mb will just default to 54mb.
      I found the 108Mb Netgear WG511T card for laptops on Amazon for 30.50. Remember to take the Free delivery option, otherwise the price goes up 6 or 7. I ordered it Sunday and it was sent out on Wednesday by 2nd class post and got here Thursday!!!

      I had to go for a card as my laptop only has a usb 1.1 connector.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION