Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Is the router a good one?

    This is a discussion on Is the router a good one? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I was skimming through DSL ZoneUK earlier and saw the following comment:- "They look to be supplying the Netgear DG834G ...

    1. #1
      Sennockian's Avatar
      Sennockian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Is the router a good one?


      I was skimming through DSL ZoneUK earlier and saw the following comment:-
      "They look to be supplying the Netgear DG834G as a rebadged "Wireless Sky Box" - I hope they don't plan on giving that to customers on the 16Meg package - as that is ADSL2+ and the Netgear DG834G is utter crap at ADSL2+ (well known fact). "

      Are they right?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Welcome Sennockian

      you may find some answers here:
      Sky Broadband Router details

      We have a subforum dedicated to the router

    4. #3
      mrmojo's Avatar
      mrmojo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      90
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It's a DG834GT and it's a very capable router, though sky have blocked access to the more interesting features (SRA, manual SNR tweaking) with no known workaround as of yet.

      Stability wise it hasn't been proven but should be fine.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have to agree with mrmojo its a great little router though when you set it up make sure you use the legs and stand it straight up as they do tend to get quite hot.

      Moved to router section.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      assos's Avatar
      assos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      32
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I have a DG834GT although not the sky variant and have no problems with it...
      Daniel McGiff - Any Questions? No Questions. Any Problems? No Problems.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION