Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    router loses connection

    This is a discussion on router loses connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi.... dont know if this is the right place tp post this... anyway I got activated 2 days ago after ...

    1. #1
      Bart's Avatar
      Bart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      router loses connection

      Hi.... dont know if this is the right place tp post this... anyway

      I got activated 2 days ago after reading some of the posts on here i relised that i need to rip my master socket to bits and plug the router in behind the face plate all good moved the router down stairs, and connected the pc with a 10m network cable. All good get a decent connection stats r ok but the router freezez up after a couple of hours every thing idicates that im connected but i cant gt up on internet or connect to the router..... If anyone have help or suggestions

      here the stats:

      System Up Time 00:30:40
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 561 579 0 332 855 00:07:59
      LAN 10M/100M 30069 34362 0 4148 3542 00:30:38
      WLAN 11M/54M 0 0 0 0 0 00:00:00


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5056 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.3 db 14.0 db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      ossie's Avatar
      ossie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thanet
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      You need to turn uPnP off on the router as it has a bug!

    4. #3
      Bart's Avatar
      Bart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      after hours of reading last nigh i actually did did that and i downloaded mossywell bounce sky router. From what i could gather and and uderstand i thought upnp had somthing to do with wireless... im not a big fan of of wireless so everything hard wired. Whatever i did last night/this morning my connection is till working...... The only thing now is these stats could someone explain them especially the "MoDe" bit.

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 7136 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 9.3 14.0
      Attn(dB): 43.0 27.0
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 9.9
      Max(Kbps): 7744 1184
      Rate (Kbps): 7136 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 224(0) 25
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 224 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 1.0711 8.6153
      L: 1800 208
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1040493 1040491
      SFErr: 15 0
      RS: 70753576 8844173
      RSCorr: 19177 56
      RSUnCorr: 116 0

      HEC: 13 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 297711273 0
      Data Cells: 114849114 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 12 0
      SES: 6 0
      UAS: 21 0
      Total time = 4 hours 55 min 16 sec
      SF = 1040493
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 1 day time = 4 hours 55 min 16 sec
      SF = 1040493
      CRC = 15
      LOS = 9
      LOF = 0
      ES = 12
      Latest 15 minutes time = 10 min 16 sec
      SF = 36228
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 1
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 2
      LOS = 1
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52989
      CRC = 4
      LOS = 3
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      You are connected on Sky's G.DMT which limits your downstream connection speed to a theoretical 12000kbps but more like 95000kbps in the real world with an excellent line.

      Your attenuation is 43db which gives you a potential downstream of ~9500kbps on ADSL2+, again, with an excellent line.

      You are actually connecting at 7136 and the shortfall is probably easily explained by a slightly generous noise margin and a small amount of noise on your line. Connect to your test socket to see what speed you could achieve were all local noise removed.

      There are a small number of errors being generated on your line but nothing to worry about.

    6. #5
      Bart's Avatar
      Bart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      the stats i posted r all from the test socket with the face plate off..... everything is wired so that i have the filter coming out of th e test socket were i connect the router then from the filter EEerything else, like i said before heheh i modified every thing...... but it all works the rule is broadband has priority then everything else......

      The other thing is if i put the faceplate back on the test socket, since the face plate has a cable wiringto the next socket. will the cable pick up interference that will be transmitted back to the master socket and affect my router.... i dont know if im making sence


      last thing it was mentioned in some posts that it might be needed to change face plate on master socket how do i know.

      sorry bout the long post

    7. #6
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      You can connect the faceplate and then connect the router to the faceplate to see if your stats change at all. If there is an orange wire connected to terminal 3 on the faceplate this can be removed as it is not really needed, only 2 and 5 required.

      When people talk about replacing the faceplate, they mean buying one with a built in microfilter. The microfilter inside is of a high quality and from the back of it you can wire filtered (for phones) and unfiltered (for router/phone) extensions. On the front of the faceplate are 2 sockets. One for a modem/router and one for a phone. This eliminates all the dangly microfilters around the house. Also can give you a better connection. Take a look at one here:

      ADSL Nation - XTE-2005 - Filtered Master Faceplate

      or here:

      Clarity :: ADSL Filtering :: BT ADSL NTE5 Master Adaptors :: Modified BT NTE5 Master ADSL Adaptor

    8. #7
      Bart's Avatar
      Bart is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: router loses connection

      Cheers for that i will order one of them in a second.... took the stat with faceplate on and i lost almost 2Mb in down stream so it looks like i need a better face plate that can do the job.......

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION