Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Converting Router to Netgear Original

    This is a discussion on Converting Router to Netgear Original within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I've read somewhere that you can revert sky router to the Netgear version. I'd like to know how to because ...

    1. #1
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Converting Router to Netgear Original

      I've read somewhere that you can revert sky router to the Netgear version.

      I'd like to know how to because a lot of people that I know of that are joined with Sky Broadband have said that they prefer the Netgear Wireless router instead of the Sky Router.

      If anybody knows of how to please tell

      Last edited by miahm2; 11-02-07 at 10:13 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Converting Router to Netgear Original

      If you read the Tech forum, all the information you require is in there, however it is against the Terms and Conditions of Sky Broadband to do what you are asking, and please be advised, you could in effect get your contract terminated.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Converting Router to Netgear Original

      Im new to this and where is Tech Forums.


    5. #4
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Converting Router to Netgear Original

      Black tool bar top of page/Forums/scroll down to technical...where your post is now
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    6. #5
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Found It

      Found It. Anyways I've looked at it and theres only 1 problem - the "upgrade wizard" doesn't flash it and also the wizard looks strange also. If you want proof see for yourself. What should I do now!!!

      Please Help
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Converting Router to Netgear Original-proof.jpg  
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    7. #6
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Converting Router to Netgear Original

      Mitts off leave alone comes to mind for the faint hearted!
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    8. #7
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Converting Router to Netgear Original

      What does that mean

      Anyway I've converted the sky router to Netgear.

      I tried another Hard Drive that had Windows 2000 and it worked
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

    9. #8
      miahm2's Avatar
      miahm2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CLWAP
      Broadband ISP: O2 Premium
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      128
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Converting Router to Netgear Original

      By the way just wondering. Since SKY changed their T&C and now that I'm the official owner does changing the firmware to the good ol' Netgear still break the T&C since I AM the owner now
      "If you can't find somethin' to live for, you best find somethin' to die for"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION