Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?

Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 63k members.

Handy Firewall Rules

This is a discussion on Handy Firewall Rules within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, As a PC Engineer, I'm familiar with setting up Firewalls. As such, I'm starting this thread so that I ...

h8ball is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Wallsend
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Sky TV:

Handy Firewall Rules

As a PC Engineer, I'm familiar with setting up Firewalls. As such, I'm starting this thread so that I can share some handy Firewall rules you can use with your Sky Router.

Advanced users, please feel free to contribute any rules you've created if you think others will find them useful in better securing their systems.

The first two rules I'll share with you are what I term GLOBAL LOCKOUT rules, which should go at the TOP of your rule lists, i.e. ABOVE any other rules:-

Outgoing LOCKOUT
      Position in List: 1
      Enabled: No
      Service Name: Any(All)
      Action: Block Always
      LAN Users: Any
      WAN Servers: Any
      Log: Always

Incoming LOCKOUT
      Position in List: 1
      Enabled: No
      Service Name: Any(All)
      Action: BLOCK always
      LAN Server IP Address: Any
      WAN Users: Any
      Log: Never

These rules are normally Disabled to allow any rules AFTER them to be processed as normal. If Enabled, though, they force the Sky Router to behave in exactly the same way a Software Firewall does when you activate its "STOP all traffic" option. They're then ALWAYS matched FIRST, overriding ALL other rules, and will block ALL Internet access in one fell swoop!