Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 34

    1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

    This is a discussion on 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; apologies, help still needed if poss, still can't get access....

    1. #11
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      apologies, help still needed if poss, still can't get access.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      Looks like you need help from Sky!
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    4. #13
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      i was thinking that this may be the only option now too!

      just a little curious though, is the 192. site something we should have access to as a 'user'? didn't want to get shouted at by sky when i get around to phoning them!

    5. #14
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      Yes it is fine 192.168.0.1 logs evryone into their own sky router.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    6. #15
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      well thank you 'Henry' at sky tech support, that was a complete waste of time!

      told him my problem, he asked me to go to my mcafee privacy settings to enable cookies - somewhat of a problem as i only use mcafee for firewall & AVG is my spyware!

      even after i'd told him this & that the option of 'manage users' wasn't showing on mcafee privacy, he insisted it was mcafee & put me thru to the mcafee help line - which was busy & i just put the phone down...

      i've been into the settings on ie7 & told it to allow cookies from 192.168.0.1, but this hasn't made any difference. i'm off to find an AVG help forum now as this is the only thing that i can think of that's reasonably new on my PC...

      (perhaps it was just a coincidence that this problem has occurred at the same time as a reboot & spyware being added - i'm a total newbie, so forgive me if this was more the relevant info required to help with my problem )

    7. #16
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      OK, i haven't been able to find much of any use on a couple of AVG forums i've just nipped into BUT i have re-read the user manual for AVG free anti-spyware & checked the settings that 'seem' relevant.

      the scanner IS searching for tracking cookies but the option to delete them automatically is disabled. i have looked where you can add exceptions on the infections to ignore, but i'm not sure what this is or what rule to add if it is needed.

      does this mean anything?, or am i barking up completely the wrong tree & i'm going to have to phone sky again?? if so, what is the best number to call? (i did 0800 before).

      perhaps you know a useful AVG forum for a complete novice to wander into?!

      i'll be ever grateful for ANY help at this stage

    8. #17
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      Just try disabling AVG and then see if it works, if not AVG probably is not the problem, if it is you can use a different firewall and virus scanner.
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    9. #18
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      thanks for the reply Rosie

      i've had AVG anti-virus on before sky went active so i don't think that's a problem. i disabled AVG anti-spyware this morning, tried logging in on 192., still no joy.

      looks like another call to sky - deep joy!, i can't wait...

    10. #19
      Lexxy_703's Avatar
      Lexxy_703 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Midlands
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      i posted on digitalspy to see if anyone had come across this problem, 1 guy had exactly the same as me but his solution hasn't helped me unfortunately

      i've just rang sky - metallic bird advises call should be answered in under 32 mins - so i'll give that a miss for now!

      did i read somewhere on here it was best to call after a certain time to boost your chances of getting thru to the UK team?

    11. #20
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Re: 1st router reboot, can't log in on Netgear now?

      If the standard reset doesn't work, then there is a more forceful way to reset the router:

      Unplug the router's power.
      Press and hold the reset button. While the button is held down, reconnect router's power.
      Continue to hold the reset button for 20 seconds after reconnecting the power.
      Wait for the router to reboot.
      Log in with the default password.

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION