Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    Ports wont open no matter what

    This is a discussion on Ports wont open no matter what within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hey im new to these forums so be easy on me :P i got sky broadband last year in december ...

    1. #1
      shadowstalker's Avatar
      shadowstalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ports wont open no matter what

      Hey im new to these forums so be easy on me :P i got sky broadband last year in december and all is well except for the fact that i cant open ports.

      Now iv tried creating a service/s and even tried using dmz and still no luck all the ports are constantly blocked, everything is set up correct like which lan ip its gota goto and whether the ports are open always and what not but still no luck iv tried rebooting the router and even reimaging the router with the sky firmware off the disc and still no luck. so does anyone have any advice or tips to try or is it a dud router from sky (only cud happen from sky like my dud adapter).

      Many thanks shadow


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Cralis's Avatar
      Cralis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Dunfermline, Scotland
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      Windows firewall maybe?

    4. #3
      shadowstalker's Avatar
      shadowstalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      hey thanks for the reply, no my windows firewall is disabled i even stopped the service but still no luck any other ideas?

    5. #4
      13thHouR's Avatar
      13thHouR is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      30
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      Do not use port 25, 80, 8080 or 3128 SKY blocks them.

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      Since when?

      Just tested a site I know is hosted on a Sky IP and it works fine no probs, so that trashes the port 80 theory.
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 06-02-07 at 02:05 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    7. #6
      shadowstalker's Avatar
      shadowstalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      it doesnt matter what port i open i cud open all the ports with the all port thing and even then it doesnt open them which i find realy strange. Iv got my static ip set up and all the rules are being forwarded to it but none of my friends or even myself can see the server over the internet i can only see it on the lan which is normal. and when i go on portforward and a few other pages it shows my external ip so what gives??

    8. #7
      Cralis's Avatar
      Cralis is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunfermline
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Dunfermline, Scotland
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      I'm starting to get worried now. What ports DOES Sky block?? Is there a list somewhere?

    9. #8
      shadowstalker's Avatar
      shadowstalker is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      so does anyone have any idea or wud i have to get sky to send me a new router as no matter what ports i open nothing seems to matter.

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      I dont think Sky really BLOCKS any ports?

      25 - Havent Tested
      80 - Tested & Works
      8080 - Tested & Works
      3128 - Havent Tested

    11. #10
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Ports wont open no matter what

      I don't use port forwarding but would opening UPnP do the trick? I know it is buggy but I have no problems with it on the netgear standard sky router?
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION