Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Firewall Query

    This is a discussion on Firewall Query within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have the router firewall set to the default settings (block always for inbound services). However an occasional attempt to ...

    1. #1
      hugo15's Avatar
      hugo15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Firewall Query

      I have the router firewall set to the default settings (block always for inbound services). However an occasional attempt to connect gets through and is blocked by my McAfee firewall. How do these get though the router firewall? I have had a look and there is no pattern in terms of the ports. I have also not configured the router to have any specific ports open.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      Can you be more specific - what gets through - also, do you have UPnP enabled?

    4. #3
      hugo15's Avatar
      hugo15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      Hi Saturday,

      Yes UPnP is enabled. Examples of what has tried to get through according to the McAfee firewall are;

      Source IP 212.58.224.83, host name www.53thdo.bbc.co.uk, port 3029
      Source IP 216.49.88.105, no host name, port 3028
      Source IP 65.182.102.190, host name Web Hosting, Free Web Site Builder & Domain Name, Web Hosting Made Easy By Brinkster, port 3146
      Source IP 83.142.230.113, host name soundsystemnet.com, port 2957

    5. #4
      hugo15's Avatar
      hugo15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      Sorry the host names I typed have turned into links.

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      That just looks like McAfee over reacting to a few delayed packets arriving while you're surfing e.g. bbc.co.uk and soundsystemnet.com (skyuser).

    7. #6
      hugo15's Avatar
      hugo15 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ingleby Barwick
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      Thanks Saturday, helpful as always.

      What does UPuP do? Should I disable it?

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Firewall Query

      Up to you.

      Many people consider UPnP a security risk in that malware could potentially use it to open a connection. The reason I asked was that if you were using a UPnP aware application then this could have opened ports which were not then closed which McAfee objected to. Now I've seen what was "getting through" that's probably not the issue.

      With UPnP off you will need to set up port forwarding if you use any applications (e.g. P2P) that need it.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION