Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Port Forward help here

    This is a discussion on Port Forward help here within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; If anyone would like to open any ports for whatever reason then this is a great site that will help ...

    1. #1
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wink Port Forward help here

      If anyone would like to open any ports for whatever reason then this is a great site that will help you

      PortForward.com is proud to offer help setting up port forwarding on your router or firewall. Many Internet users are not aware of how to configure their router or firewall in order to use applications like Peer-to-Peer file sharing (PtoP), Internet Games, Web serving, FTP serving, WebCams, IRC DDC, and Instant Messaging such as AIM, ICQ, Yahoo and MS Messenger.

      I hope this will help anyone who is interested.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      chris35's Avatar
      chris35 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Thanks Wheelie I'll take a look at this site.

    4. #3
      Lindemans's Avatar
      Lindemans is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bury MRBUR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      has anyone managed to set up port forwarding for emule or other similar things??

      I went to portforwarding.com and printed a couple of guides for portforwarding emule and utorrent bit i still have had no luck.
      has anyone set up either of these ?
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 16-10-06 at 11:00 PM. Reason: added second post

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      what ports does it use?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      @lindemans

      I have set up utorrent (which you asked about before your second post disappeared?!) with no problems. Do the following:

      • open up utorrent and make a note of the port used for incoming connections
      • open up network connections on your PC
      • double click local area network to open it
      • click on the support tab
      • make a note of the IP address
      • log into the router
      • select LAN IP setup
      • click add under address reservation
      • choose your PC (it will have the IP address you noted)
      • click add then apply
      • select services then add custom service
      • type utorrent, select both and put the port you noted in the first box, click apply
      • select firewall rules and click add an inbound service
      • add utorrent, allow always, the IP address you noted, click apply
      • check the enable box, click apply
      • go back to utorrent, select options then speed guide
      • click test if port is forwarded properly
      • check that the message says it is set up properly


      Note that by using address reservation in the router you don't need to disable DHCP for a fixed address.

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its also very useful if you wish to host your own website, Also use another port than 80 or 8080 as I have frequent problems when setting up my site on that port!

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      the post was my fault - sorry have moved it back




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      the post was my fault - sorry have moved it back
      bless... everyone makes mistakes!

    10. #9
      RubberJohny's Avatar
      RubberJohny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dudley (CMDD)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Dudley
      Posts
      117
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ill try this if i encounter any problems thanks

    11. #10
      mark311's Avatar
      mark311 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi, did anyone ever resolve the 8080 problem mentioned by FibreOptic - I have Tomcat running on 8080 and would prefer not to change that port. I configured 8080 to be allowed through the Netgear firewall but cannot connect via my external IP. I've allowed 8080 through the Windows firewall too. Just gives a 404.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION