Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 115
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Router Setup/Configuration

    This is a discussion on Sky Router Setup/Configuration within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Originally Posted by sandipv I have already passed my activation date, and have all the lights and connections correct. I ...

    1. #11
      BigDave1972's Avatar
      BigDave1972 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by sandipv View Post
      I have already passed my activation date, and have all the lights and connections correct. I can connect to the internet only by physical Ethernet cable.

      However I wish to connect using the built-in wireless card on my laptop, it is a brand new laptop with the latest wireless technology so I cannot understand why I cannot connect wirelessly.

      I spent nearly over an hour talking to sky technical support going through the router settings and changing the security encryption from WPA to WEP and using a WEP network key etc. Still no luck, I can keep on getting an error message saying "windows cannot connect to this network".

      Please can anybody help me, sky have already said they cannot help me any further, and have advised me to purchase a USB dongle from them, I would however prefer to connect without paying for a USB dongle and losing a USB port to the dongle. The laptop I am using is an Acer 5673WLmi, with a built-in wireless card... WLAN: Intel PRO/Wireless 3945ABG network (dual-band tri-mode 802.11 a/b/g).

      Any help on this will be much appreciated!
      Go into Control Panel on the laptop and double click on the System icon.
      In here click on the Computer Name tab.
      Then click on the 'Network Id' button - and follow the instructions to set it to connect to a home network.
      Reboot
      Then back to control panel and click on 'Network Setup Wizard'

      Follow the instructions - picking the 'residential gateway' option.

      This might help


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      lindakay's Avatar
      lindakay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: farnwoth North West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bolton
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy router accsess

      when i try to accsess the router setup page i put in
      user :admin
      password: sky
      i get this
      System Authentication Failed.


      Please contact your system administrator for the correct information.


      i want to get in and change the password plus a nosey round lol
      can anyone help please what am i doing wrong

    4. #13
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Linda

      In thats case you need to a router reset look at the back of the router and you will see a small hole poke a pen or pin into it for about 10 seconds and then the light vanish and then reappear once they have settled down you should be ok to log in it.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    5. #14
      lindakay's Avatar
      lindakay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: farnwoth North West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bolton
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thanks wheelie but if i did that i would have to redo all the security am i correct
      as i am not totally sure how i would do that?
      are we not ment to go in the setup ?

    6. #15
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Not at all it should put it back to the same state that it was delivered to you in.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    7. #16
      lindakay's Avatar
      lindakay is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: farnwoth North West
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      bolton
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      thank you i shall try that

    8. #17
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      NP and if you find you do need help there are a lot of members on here only to willing to assist
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    9. #18
      htafc2's Avatar
      htafc2 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huddersfield
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Setup/Configuration

      Right then where do I start?

      Ordered Sky broadband max in early Oct activation date of the 29th oct, sod all since apart from a massive phone bill from trying to speak to someone who knows what they're doing at sky.
      I've been told numerous excuses from them as to why i can't connect (never the same 1 twice) the best was that my present broadband provider was stopping them from supplying me through the phone line (I have what was NTL broadband)
      I have a power light and a wireless light on the router but no internet light, I've plugged the line straight into the test socket of my phone line ( phone works but not router so no problem with the line, I can log into the router via the ethernet cable but not with wireless.
      They sent me another router but just the same with that 1, also tried all 6 filters that came with them.
      The only reason I haven't told them where to go is that they give my monthly fee back each month and I've still got NTL going till I do get it working (HOPEFULLY).

      Any help or suggestions would be very much appreciated ,
      Thanks Dave

    10. #19
      trevvfr's Avatar
      trevvfr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      lancashire
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Setup/Configuration

      i think i know what went wrong ive got this strait on wireless when it should be on lan we have 3 computers connected at the moment will be having four and were using ethernet my pc should be on lan how can i change it or do i need to and is this why when i start pc it will not connect properly
      Last edited by trevvfr; 13-03-07 at 05:06 PM.

    11. #20
      rupertthebear's Avatar
      rupertthebear is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cleckheaton
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Router Setup/Configuration

      Hi There, I had exactly the same problem as you, contacted Sky Support 3 times but no fix. They said they would put me on the Tier 3 Support and I would get a call within 3-5 days, 4 weeks later still no call. After reading several posts on this site someone suggested rebooting the router, Using a pin, press the reset button (small hole) in the back of the router and hold for a few seconds. Wireless now working no thanks to Sky. Hope this is some help to you.

     

     
    Page 2 of 12 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)

    1. 12-12-13, 05:54 PM
    2. 07-11-13, 02:22 PM
    3. 02-10-13, 12:38 PM
    4. 05-09-13, 12:45 PM
    5. 31-07-13, 08:00 PM
    6. 13-05-13, 06:05 PM
    7. 06-03-13, 04:40 PM
    8. 05-11-11, 09:46 PM
    9. 26-10-11, 10:26 PM
    10. 04-11-08, 02:02 PM
    11. 03-10-08, 08:57 AM
    12. 30-09-08, 07:19 PM
    13. 27-08-08, 08:15 PM
    14. 08-08-08, 09:04 PM
    15. 11-07-08, 08:16 PM
    16. 10-07-08, 11:08 PM
    17. 27-06-08, 03:20 PM
    18. 19-06-08, 02:15 PM
    19. 06-06-08, 03:41 AM
    20. 08-05-08, 06:34 PM
    21. 22-04-08, 11:37 AM
    22. 22-04-08, 10:51 AM
    23. 20-04-08, 07:59 PM
    24. 13-04-08, 05:20 AM
    25. 06-04-08, 11:51 PM
    26. 27-02-08, 09:08 AM
    27. 09-02-08, 01:31 PM
    28. 05-02-08, 08:40 PM
    29. 31-12-07, 12:12 PM
    30. 30-12-07, 11:58 PM
    31. 30-12-07, 06:50 PM
    32. 27-12-07, 12:15 AM
    33. 26-12-07, 09:09 AM
    34. 20-12-07, 02:01 PM
    35. 15-12-07, 09:47 AM
    36. 13-12-07, 04:34 PM
    37. 06-12-07, 02:46 PM
    38. 04-12-07, 02:23 PM
    39. 04-12-07, 02:10 PM
    40. 04-12-07, 01:46 PM
    41. 04-12-07, 01:41 PM
    42. 04-12-07, 01:36 PM
    43. 17-11-07, 01:14 PM
    44. 06-11-07, 07:14 PM
    45. 31-10-07, 08:51 PM
    46. 28-10-07, 03:57 PM
    47. 27-09-07, 09:35 AM
    48. 26-09-07, 12:45 PM
    49. 08-07-07, 02:57 PM
    50. 05-06-07, 02:14 PM

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION