Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Router and computer incompatible!

    This is a discussion on Router and computer incompatible! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I'm trying to connect to Sky Broadband, but not getting very far. After entering the username and password at the ...

    1. #1
      vicky79's Avatar
      vicky79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router and computer incompatible!

      I'm trying to connect to Sky Broadband, but not getting very far.
      After entering the username and password at the initial login, instead of seeing the router config screen the screen goes blank, the router lights flicker madly and Internet Explorer (IE6) becomes unstable! Following serveral conversations with Sky support they declared the router faulty and sent a replacement, but nothing has changed.
      However, when I replaced the PC with a borrowed laptop the config screen came up without a problem. Similarly, the PC will connect happily to a Belkin router on a friend's network.
      Can anyone help? The PC is a Dell 3100C which has been working happily on BT Broadband through an ADSL modem for several months.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      check to make sure your pc is getting the ip address from the router and that you have not got your pc set up so it connects to a specified ip address

    4. #3
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      Is this only when you try to login to the Sky Broadband website? Have you tried to login via your friend's Belkin wireless router?

    5. #4
      Russ's Avatar
      Russ is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Livingston Bridge (ESLVB)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: ER115
      Sky TV: SkyQ
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Livingston
      Posts
      238
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      quote from Vicky:- "I'm trying to connect to Sky Broadband, but not getting very far.
      After entering the username and password at the initial login, instead of seeing the router config screen the screen goes blank,"

      when you put the username/password in are you trying to log into the router using the name and password sky sent you in their letter or ( as you should be using.... ) admin /sky ? or are you trying to log into the Sky portal ?

    6. #5
      vicky79's Avatar
      vicky79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      Thanks for your replies. In answer to your questions:
      Dingdong - if you mean is the TCP/IP properties set to "obtain IP address automatically", then yes it is.
      Russ - the admin/sky combination was used for both the laptop (which connected to the router ok) and the PC (which doesn't).

    7. #6
      idmanager's Avatar
      idmanager is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leabrooks
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      just open a command prompt from start>run>cmd
      then type ping 192.168.0.1
      and see if you get a reply, if not type
      ipconfig /all
      and see if you have a ip address and the gateway is 192.168.0.1
      if not then its a network setting or bad ethernet drivers on your pc

    8. #7
      vicky79's Avatar
      vicky79 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router and computer incompatible!

      Yes, I can ping ping 192.168.0.1 but I still can't get as far as the configuration screen. As I've already explained, the lights flash rapidly and the screen stutters - as if the PC keeps almost connecting to the router and failing.
      Might it be an ethernet problem? How would I tell?
      Any suggestions most welcome.
      Last edited by vicky79; 12-01-07 at 10:28 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION