Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sky Max - does the router come with engineer?

    This is a discussion on Sky Max - does the router come with engineer? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi I've been reading this forum for the past few months trying to gain as much information about Sky Broadband. ...

    1. #1
      OxO's Avatar
      OxO
      OxO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trowbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max on 9th Jan - hopefully???
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Max - does the router come with engineer?

      Hi

      I've been reading this forum for the past few months trying to gain as much information about Sky Broadband. I finally took the plunge back on 11th December. After about 10 days there had been no contact from Sky. I emailed them 3 times but no response until 3 days later. They phone and told me that they did not have a Mac Code. I then told them that I gave them the Mac Code (from BT) on the day I signed up to Sky Broadband. They had no record of this and basically said it had been lost.

      I was really annoyed because of the trouble of getting Mac Codes and I'd been able to get it over the phone in less than 5 mins. Now comes the bad news - I'd lost the Mac Code. I'd scribbled it down on the back of an old envelope and then it had got thrown out!!!

      After loads of phone calls with Sky to see if they could trace the person who took the call the only thing left to do was to phone BT and ask for the Mac Code again. I wasnt sure but I thought they wouldnt give you the old one again once they had given it to you first time and then you had to wait 30 days to get a new one. Anyway, I was sitting there with a BT statement waiting to be connected and what should be written on the statement - the freakin Mac Code! Could not believe it - dont even remember putting it there.

      So the moral of the story is............. Dont throw your Mac Code in the bin. Installation is now set for 9th Jan. Password and Username letters have arrived and even a letter of apology from Sky about the mix up!!

      I'm sorry for that rant but I just needed to put it down in writing - my main question is........does the engineer bring the router with him on installation day?? Because nothings turned up in the post? I've actually installed quite a few for family and myself before but I'm currently recovering from Spinal Surgery so bending down under computer tables is not an option at the moment so i took advantage of the free installation.

      Any help would be greatfully received


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      does the engineer bring the router with him on installation day?? Because nothings turned up in the post?
      If you have an engineer visit booked he will bring it with him

      I've actually installed quite a few for family and myself before but I'm currently recovering from Spinal Surgery so bending down under computer tables is not an option at the moment so i took advantage of the free installation.
      Hope you recover soon, and hopefully it is all trouble free for you




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      If you have an engineer visit booked he will bring it with him
      I think that is the key way to ensure you get your router and dont suffer the problems of missing routers. Use it as effectively a courier service. Go for max, get the engineer to come so you know you get the router and when he arrives, just take it off him and let him go his merry way.

    5. #4
      OxO's Avatar
      OxO
      OxO is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trowbridge
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max on 9th Jan - hopefully???
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Many thanks for the info NewsreadeR and reddwarfcrew its much appreciated. I only hope that all goes smoothly and I'm connected with not too much trouble. Since coming home from hospital the internet has been my saviour!!

      I will let you know how it goes and post my speed!

      Cheers!

      OxO


    6. #5
      MrStabby's Avatar
      MrStabby is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      357
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Yes, you don't get to keep the engineer though.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION