Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 27

    Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP)

    This is a discussion on Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP) within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I tried this at weekend because my laptop card cannot handle WPA but when i changed it to WEP my ...

    1. #11
      DeeGame's Avatar
      DeeGame is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kingsbury, London NW9
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I tried this at weekend because my laptop card cannot handle WPA but when i changed it to WEP my laptop could still not connect to the router.

      In the end i changed it back to WPA and ordered a WPA compatible card


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      psychoe's Avatar
      psychoe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THM
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You shoul've tried to disable the security option 1st, before buying a different wireless adaptor.

      Or called tech support. They will help you setting WEP up. But ofcourse, This will still not guarantee that you will be able to connect smoothly.
      Last edited by psychoe; 16-10-06 at 05:44 PM. Reason: BTW

    4. #13
      The Grim Reaper's Avatar
      The Grim Reaper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Burslem
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Stoke On Trent
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool

      If the above is true and it stops constant drop outs. Has anyone told sky because their Tech support seem to have the same level of knowledge as myself when it comes to the ins and outs of networks, this i'm affraid is not much knowledge. Thier solution seems to be cap your line so that it is more stable.

    5. #14
      foofightin's Avatar
      foofightin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stony Stratford SMSSF
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      nintendo ds here we come!

    6. #15
      Zipie's Avatar
      Zipie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I took my web key and stuck it under my keyboard with sticky tape... LOL lame but i will not lose it.

      LOL

    7. #16
      danrag's Avatar
      danrag is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Woo-Hoo!!!!

      My DS is online. Now if Sky just get their act together with the connection stability I'll be sorted.. Although I get the feeling the only solution might be a better modem/router in the first place.

    8. #17
      damo1977's Avatar
      damo1977 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSCRAY
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP)

      I tried this and still get wireless drop outs

    9. #18
      snake's Avatar
      snake is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      73
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP)

      Quote Originally Posted by SatDish View Post
      truble is as i have found in the past lots of bits of paper gets lost or the other half tidys yer desk up and puts them in the bin
      If you do follow these instructions and it doesn't work then you can just use the reset button next to the power cable at the back of your broadband box that resets your router settings page back to default and you will be reset back to WPA-PSK but on the encryption strength you would be better choosing 128 bit cause its more secure than 64 bit but thats entirely up to yourself. Another thing to add to that make sure you are using xp service pack 2 because windows xp service pack 1 doesn't support wireless and you will need to use a wireless adapter.

    10. #19
      Wirless's Avatar
      Wirless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP)

      thanks for this information, I think it's fixed my disconnection problem.... fingers crossed

    11. #20
      RSimpson's Avatar
      RSimpson is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Baillieston
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Good news and instructions on WEP settings (XP)

      Quote Originally Posted by snake View Post
      If you do follow these instructions and it doesn't work then you can just use the reset button next to the power cable at the back of your broadband box that resets your router settings page back to default and you will be reset back to WPA-PSK but on the encryption strength you would be better choosing 128 bit cause its more secure than 64 bit but thats entirely up to yourself. Another thing to add to that make sure you are using xp service pack 2 because windows xp service pack 1 doesn't support wireless and you will need to use a wireless adapter.
      I've got 2 old computers running XPSP1 which I can't connect to the Sky router but connected them to my old Edimax router just fine (for a loooong time without any problems) when I was using NTL's service, so I don't know how you're coming up with XPSP1 not supporting wireless, I'm going to try the settings above and see if I get anywhere.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION