Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    checking the basics - just plug in and go ?

    This is a discussion on checking the basics - just plug in and go ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; hello anyone who knows, I've just returned from visiting my dad to set up their new sky broadband installation for ...

    1. #1
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      checking the basics - just plug in and go ?

      hello anyone who knows,

      I've just returned from visiting my dad to set up their new sky broadband installation for them. I followed the steps on the CD, including installing the software, connecting the filter to the phoneline, filter to the Netgear, Netgear to their laptop using the yellow ethernet cable.

      My question is, should I have had to enter the username and password at some stage, as referred to in a letter from Sky? I ask because the laptop seemed to go online automatically and successfully access the web, email etc.

      Some extra info, if relevant :-

      I don't know the ins and outs of their account, but they seem to be accessing a 2.5 Mbps connection.

      Network Connections shows two new connections created;
      My memory is hazy on the specifics but I think one is an 'internet connection' (shown as disabled ?) and the other is an ethernet connection which seems to be running at 100 Mbps.

      I couldn't see any way to make their new Sky Broadband connection the 'default' internet connection, but it appeared to have made itself act as the default anyway.

      Does any / all of the above sound normal / strange ?
      Do I need to adjust some more bits and pieces for them?

      Thanks a lot,
      Lee


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Quote Originally Posted by leecovuk View Post
      My question is, should I have had to enter the username and password at some stage, as referred to in a letter from Sky? I ask because the laptop seemed to go online automatically and successfully access the web, email etc.
      Nope, the username and password is only required to log into Sky's website or for your email accounts if you use Outlook etc.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/view-outlook.html


      I couldn't see any way to make their new Sky Broadband connection the 'default' internet connection, but it appeared to have made itself act as the default anyway.
      Sounds like you are up and running and to me sounds about right, as long as he can access the net, I wouldn't worry

      Welcome to skyuser.co.uk btw
      Last edited by NewsreadeR; 04-04-07 at 10:19 PM.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks NewsreadeR and hello to you too,

      ok, I see.

      I do have this nagging thought though that those 2 'new connections' as I described seems a bit weird ... or is that normal in this kind of set up? I am not previously experienced with a router or using ethernet connections.
      I'm only familiar with setting up old dial-up or USB modem connections, requiring a username and password.

      As for the aerial on the router; is wireless available to all users or is it an extra subscription option?
      I didn't do anything on the wireless front, so will probably have to read around this site and work out what needs to be done in the router config and also the laptop itself.

      Thanks again,
      Lee

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I do have this nagging thought though that those 2 'new connections' as I described seems a bit weird ... or is that normal in this kind of set up? I am not previously experienced with a router or using ethernet connections.
      I'm only familiar with setting up old dial-up or USB modem connections, requiring a username and password.
      I presume the internet connection is to do with UPnP, which you can turn off in the router admin pages.

      Type 192.168.0.1 in the internet address bar and the username is admin and the password is sky.

      Look for the UPnP option and disable it, I can't really see why your dad would be using that anyway. That should then remove the internet icon.

      As for the aerial on the router; is wireless available to all users or is it an extra subscription option?
      Yes it is part of your deal with Sky, if you have no need for wireless you can turn it off in the above router pages to stop anyone using your dad's account. If you do need to use wireless, you would need a wireless card or a usb wireless adapter to go in the pc that you want wireless. If your dad only has one PC then this is definitely not needed.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks again there,

      I hate uPNP partly because I fail to understand its purpose and partly because it _seems_ to be involved in an XP bug where tray icons disappear. I think their laptop probably has uPNP 'on' or 'installed' so presumably I could try turning it off both in the router as you've suggested as well as in the laptop itself.
      (I've already seen the page on this forum explaining how to log into the router via a browser, etc)

      Just to clarify ... is the idea of 'wireless' in this context, that there is no need to use the yellow ethernet cable connecting the Netgear to the laptop? ie, the router can be conveniently sat near the phone connection point and the laptop can (if on battery) be totally wire free?

      If so, that sounds very useful, so I'll have to check out the laptop manual to see if their laptop is wireless capable as it is. i assume such a state may exist? Do you always need to get an 'aerial' for a laptop or pc to receive wireless signals? Please excuse my ignorance on this whole wireless topic ! It's because I myelf am still in the dark ages with an old Intel Pentium 111 pc and a USB modem.

      Thanks just once more,
      Lee

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Just to clarify ... is the idea of 'wireless' in this context, that there is no need to use the yellow ethernet cable connecting the Netgear to the laptop? ie, the router can be conveniently sat near the phone connection point and the laptop can (if on battery) be totally wire free?
      Thats correct, once wirelessly connected the yellow ethernet cable is redundant.

      If so, that sounds very useful, so I'll have to check out the laptop manual to see if their laptop is wireless capable as it is. i assume such a state may exist? Do you always need to get an 'aerial' for a laptop or pc to receive wireless signals? Please excuse my ignorance on this whole wireless topic ! It's because I myelf am still in the dark ages with an old Intel Pentium 111 pc and a USB modem.
      If it is a fairly modern laptop then it should be wireless, and the aeriel should already be built in, so no real need for an extra one. If not wireless you can buy a wireless dongle from Sky at 20.00 which is a netgear one which is very good and extremely good value for money. Again with this option no aeriel should be required.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      great, thanks for this very clear info. Seems clearer than any sky letters or the disc !

      I have a feeling their laptop may well have wireless built in, as recently when updating its drivers I vaguely recall a driver offered by Driver Detective for a 'wireless something or other' ... I'll check.

      I'll probably pop round again tomorrow armed with this new info and do them a better job.

      Just wish I could also find a way to offset the RF output on their video to avoid Channel 5 interference ! Some old chestnuts seem hard to crack !


      Lee

    9. #8
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just popped back to say, although now beyond the scope of this topic ...

      The laptop is a medion MIM2080 and some net research states it has a built in aerial but "The unit has no built in wireless networking and no PCMCIA slot."
      Another article states it needs a 'USB dongle' for 'wireless' which you referred to, newsreadeR, so all in all, a trip to the USB dongle shop (SKY) indeed seems necessary to get the Netgear to interact wirelessly with the laptop.

      I assume a USB dongle is 'one suits all' but probably sensible to get the supported one from Sky ?

      The 'wireless something or other' I came across on the laptop appears to be a 'Wireless Lan', which my current learning curve is teaching me is something different relating specifically to one pc communicating with another.
      ?

      Lee



      *Edit : - I've read that ethernet is the 'preferred' connection type in terms of speed and possible connectivity problems with a USB dongle, but I suspect my dad will want to try the dongle as it is rather cumbersome having all the cables and the router necessarily so immediately adjacent to the laptop.
      Last edited by leecovuk; 22-11-06 at 04:09 AM.

    10. #9
      leecovuk's Avatar
      leecovuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      hello again NewsreadeR or anyone else knowledgeable,

      Just to say I told my dad about the USB Dongle and he's ordered one from Sky. Should arrive soon.

      Can I ask, if the laptop + Netgear set up he has needs any of the 'Networking Services' in XP's 'Add/Remove Components' ?
      I'm particularly wondering about :-
      "Internet Gateway Device Discovery and Control Client"
      and
      "UPnP User Interface".

      I consistently fail to understand what they do, and have uninstalled them on my desktop pc + USB modem set up(not SKY Broadband) with no apparent side effects.

      Thanks,
      Lee

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      I would leave them as they are personnally just to be on the safe side, when the dongle comes it should be fairly simple to setup. If you get stuck just ask on here

      /wishes Sky paid a commission




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION