Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sagem router

    This is a discussion on Sagem router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have a Sagem router, probably around 8 years old, I知 not sure of the model number. It works fine ...

    1. #1
      Pete069's Avatar
      Pete069 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sagem router

      I have a Sagem router, probably around 8 years old, I知 not sure of the model number. It works fine for me despite it痴 age, I get around 18meg of download speed.

      My question is; my 10 year old iMac has now gone to heaven and I知 awaiting delivery of a nice new shiny iMac, a 27 inch model with extra,s can anyone tell me if my long in the tooth Sagem router will work okay with the hot modern electronics of the new iMac.

      I feel I should upgrade to a Sky Q router but funds are limited after splashing out on a new Mac, being retired does not help me increase my bank balance quickly!!!!

      Any advice appreciated, please note I知 no technical guru!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,214
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,650 Times in 1,611 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      As you say your Sagem is a bit long in the tooth, but there is no reason it will not work with your new Mac. However if you want to get the best out of your new Mac, you would do well to upgrade to a new router. A new Sky ER router or a 3rd party equivalent, will allow you to use 5ghz wifi speed, which is much higher the you will get from the Sagem and will also give you gigabit ethernet, 10 time faster that the Sagem..

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Pete069's Avatar
      Pete069 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Thank for your reply, appreciated.
      I note that the Sky Q Router is offered for sale on Amazon at a price cheaper than Sky and with free delivery, do you consider this to be a ‘safe bet’?
      I know if I contact Sky direct I will probably have to pay the full price along with delivery.
      My main concern with the Amazon route is WARRANTY issues.
      Regards

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,214
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,650 Times in 1,611 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Buying one from Amazon would probably be OK, but before doing so give Sky a call and tell them you are having problems with the Sagem, loosing connection to the internet for instance.. You never know, they may offer you a free replacement as it is so old. You might have to sign up for anther 12 month contract, but if you are happy with Sky, that should not be a problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      wizard200's Avatar
      wizard200 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gatwick
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max + Sky Talk
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110UK + SkyQ Booster EE120
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2Tb + mini
      Join Date
      Sep 2013
      Location
      west sussex
      Posts
      216
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Hello Pete069
      I think Isitme is quite right your old router is a bit long in the tooth you may get a deal from Sky if you
      are lucky depending on who you get when you ring but just a suggestion quite a few friends have
      managed to get New Q Hubs from eBay both types ER110UK & ER115UK for around 」20 quid + postage
      I help set them up & they all worked with No problems....So Worth a Look.............


      Just a Thought..................


      Sagem router-149294266412628215574-mini.jpg

    7. #6
      BurnIT's Avatar
      BurnIT is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01827
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Polesworth
      Posts
      225
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      The only thing I would say is that no router will be able to give you a faster download speed than the ADSL line supports.

      A faster router may allow faster local connections between your own machines.

    8. #7
      tenar's Avatar
      tenar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newcastle NINE
      Broadband ISP: sky fibre max
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: none
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      newcastle co down
      Posts
      440
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 45 Times in 43 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      be aware sky q routers are not normally sold and expected to be returned as they are rented of sky its non q version that is sold

    9. #8
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,011
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 186 Times in 177 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Quote Originally Posted by tenar View Post
      be aware sky q routers are not normally sold and expected to be returned as they are rented of sky its non q version that is sold
      That is not true.
      The Sky Q hub is sent out to a new Sky Q customers as part of the Sky Q package. If they leave Sky completely, then the Sky Q tv equipment and the hub will need to be returned. But if the user drops the tv package with Sky and keeps the broadband, they still keep the router.
      You can buy the Sky Q hub from Sky now for around 」60 and it is then yours to keep.
      New or upgrading Sky broadband customers all now receive a Sky Q hub. The Sagem router is no longer having any significant firmware updates and will not get any of the recent security issue updates, that the Sky Q hub and SR102 have had over the last few months.
      The same q hub router is sent to Now tv Broadband customers (just with a Now TV branding).

    10. #9
      Pete069's Avatar
      Pete069 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Tenar, just purchased one from Sky!

    11. #10
      Pete069's Avatar
      Pete069 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01908
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2018
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sagem router

      Isitme, rang Sky today. Long call with an operative based in Bulgaria. As my Sagem was so old he offered me a free hub, the one prior to the Q hub.
      I asked if I could have a Q hub, yes he said but they are not free, a brief pause whilst he spoke to someone else and I was then given a good discount and ruduced delivery costs.
      So I am very happy this arvo, a decent saving on the product price and the latest Sky router technology.
      Thanks for your steer, your suggestion was good for me so thank you.
      Regards

      - - - Updated - - -

      Yup that is something I am aware of, so am not/do not expect my copper wires to perform miracles....
      Isitme likes this.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION