Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 26

    Cant log in to router

    This is a discussion on Cant log in to router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Having exceptionally bad speeds so thought i would reboot but i have tried several times to log into the ...

    1. #1
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cant log in to router

      Hi,

      Having exceptionally bad speeds so thought i would reboot but i have tried several times to log into the router but all i get is a blank screen........

      Any ideas ?

      Many thanks,
      Steve


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Got a stable connection back this morning but still getting a blank screen when i try to log into the router............

      Anybody else having this problem ?

      Any ideas as to why this is happening ?

      Thanks,
      Steve

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      What is the address you are typing in?

    5. #4
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      What is the address you are typing in?
      Same one i always have which is
      Last edited by Cockney; 18-11-06 at 11:03 AM.

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      It just maybe your router, Try RESETTING it by using a little pin and push it into the reset hole on the back?

    7. #6
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will try that, thanks for your help,

      If i do that will i lose all my port forwarding stuff that i changed ?

      Steve
      Last edited by Cockney; 18-11-06 at 11:05 AM.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yes, You will! Thats resets the router back to default!

    9. #8
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks again, will give it a go !

    10. #9
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      The reset button is time sensitive. A quick press will cause the router to reboot - probably the same as though reboot was chosen from the admin pages. Holding it in for 5 or so seconds will cause it to return to the router default settings i.e. the settings it had when it was delivered.

      You should be able to back up your settings and restore them to the router. However, in my own experience the restore function fails if you've changed anything to do with the router address or used address reservation. However if you can't get to the router admin pages then that's irrelevant.

    11. #10
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Do you know of any possible reasons why i cant log onto the router ?

      IE: The blank screen ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION