Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 26

    Cant log in to router

    This is a discussion on Cant log in to router within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Seems strange! Can you ping your router? 192.168.0.1??? Because its obviously working because you can access the net? Does it ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Seems strange! Can you ping your router? 192.168.0.1??? Because its obviously working because you can access the net?

      Does it go straight to a blank screen, or after you input the username and password?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      No idea I'm afraid. Could be a possible problem with the router e.g. it's not rendering the HTML admin pages held in its memory.

      A full reset to the router default may correct this though as you've probably realised, if it doesn't then you've lost your port forwarding etc. with no way of redoing this.

      I'd get onto Sky and tell them you've a faulty router. You may need to be economical with the truth though as they might not see this as a fault requiring replacement.

      In the meantime why not post to the Tech forum. There are a few people on there who may have some useful advice on getting access to the router through other means. You may not get an immediate response but the people I'm thinking about tend to visit the forum most days.

    4. #13
      Bob75's Avatar
      Bob75 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: High Wycombe
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Chiltern Hills
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      When Internet Connection Sharing is enabled on a PC previously used to share its dial up internet connection, your LAN adapter will be set to use IP
      address 192.168.0.1. Coincidentally the same address as the login page in the router. Check that your dial up connection in network connections is not still set to share the connection. If there is a conflicting IP address your computer may lose connectivity with other computers on
      your network. If these other computers have static IP addresses, it may help to set them to obtain their IP addresses automatically.

    5. #14
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Seems strange! Can you ping your router? 192.168.0.1??? Because its obviously working because you can access the net?

      Does it go straight to a blank screen, or after you input the username and password?
      It goes straight to a blank screen, i put in web address & it say's done straight away with nothing there !

      Not very techy i'm afraid but is it right you can only ping your router if you can access it ?

      Speeds are not affected as i'm still getting a stable 5MB download speed although this all went wrong on Friday night when my service went down.....

      Thanks again for all your answers,
      Steve

    6. #15
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Rang Sky as the router keeps dropping connection as well so that coupled with my phone line keep dropping has been passed to tier 3 apparently & i should expect a callback within 5 days............We'll see

      Steve

    7. #16
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Cockney, If your ticket has been open for more then 5days and you havent had any responce, Ring tech support and quote BB1!

    8. #17
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Will do, thanks for the advice...

    9. #18
      Cockney's Avatar
      Cockney is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Morley, Leeds
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Leeds
      Posts
      146
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      If i uninstall the router & re-install it do you think this would help or is it not advisable ?

      Thanks again,
      Steve
      Last edited by Cockney; 20-11-06 at 06:46 PM. Reason: Spelling

    10. #19
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      lol.. wasnt that what we first advised?

    11. #20
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Not sure what you mean by uninstall Cockney?

      There are no PC drivers or application software for it. Just plug in and go.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION