Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Don't get it?

    This is a discussion on Don't get it? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi,well my broadband working ok now thanks to you lot but my son has had his activated today at his ...

    1. #1
      siggy's Avatar
      siggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Don't get it?

      Hi,well my broadband working ok now thanks to you lot but my son has had his activated today at his house and its slow.I pluged the router into the master socket and have no other wiring going from themaster socket.His noise level is 6.9 db .Any ideas why it would be low with no other wiring ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      ?? When you say slow, As in what speed! Also what Pack is he on? As your on Mid!

      Could you post his full stats?

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      6.9 is about the same as mine and I can get 7mb




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      siggy's Avatar
      siggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi,he is on the mid package and the speed tests showed about 2 meg.I can't get to his to see at moment but i think his down line att was 38 .His stats are better than mine now but i get 6.3 meg

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Have you tried any connection tweaking... TCP Optimizer... Spyware can also slow it down!

      Alot of Adult Orientated sites seem to install Spyware on your machines, but its very UNLIKELY that is the case?
      Last edited by Keiran2K8; 16-11-06 at 12:14 AM. Reason: changed wording

    7. #6
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Fibre!!!!!!


      Sorry I came over all mumsy

    8. #7
      siggy's Avatar
      siggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi,he is on the mid package and the speed tests showed about 2 meg.I can't get to his to see at moment but i think his down line att was 38 .His stats are better than mine now but i get 6.3 meg

    9. #8
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Sorted Hugsie!

      Also there is only limited trouble shooting you can do without the full stats!

      As maybe he has loads of noise on his line? As Attenuation should be alot different as he likes close to you - right?

    10. #9
      siggy's Avatar
      siggy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: stechford
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sorry sent twice! ,what i dont understand is why the noise level is so low,with mine pluging into master test point increased from 6 to 12.9

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      SNR (Signal to Noise Ratio).

      The SNR margin can only be measured from your own property and therefore to be measured correctly may need an engineer visit to check this figure from the BT test socket behind your master phone socket. Your SNR Margin can fluctuate on a day to day basis and may vary depending upon local equipment, conditions and interference.
      An upgrade in speed often causes the SNR to decrease by up to 5 dB. The higher your SNR figure then the better your line quality and therefore a higher chance of getting faster speeds.
      It is very important to note that SNR plays much more importance in maxdsl than it did on the traditional adsl product.

      Taken from http://www.kitz.co.uk/adsl/linestats.htm

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION