Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12
    Like Tree5Likes

    Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

    This is a discussion on Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello folks, I've just uploaded a couple of new videos which may interest some people. Both seawright and I have ...

    1. #1
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Hello folks,

      I've just uploaded a couple of new videos which may interest some people. Both seawright and I have put these together to help those with not too much knowledge.

      The first video shows how to connect it up.



      This second video shows how to connect, via WiFi, to the Sky Q Hub. It uses both the WPS and Password methods.



      Many thanks to seawright for helping with this project.
      Last edited by Scubbie; 17-05-16 at 12:18 PM.
      reddwarfcrew and Isitme like this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Haha!

      Strange unboxing, as did not see the long inch wide tab to pull out the double box (not the way you pulled it out) and the top box was upside down, as when first opened you see the router facing you with the accessories box underneath.
      Also, you had removed the protection over the hub raised sky logo.
      Just taken a few pics of my box and how they appeared on uboxing, hub not in there now

      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos-2016-05-17-19.29.53.jpg
      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos-2016-05-17-19.30.16.jpg

      Naughty, you did not use the new dsl lead or power cable.
      An sr101, that's an old bit of kit. Do people still have those, thought everyone would have an sr102 now as the base router/hub now.

      Must admit I turned WPS off Myself as soon as I got My sky q hub, not that secure so I've heard.
      Mind, am enjoying the sky q hub, been great so far.

      Mine came via overnight delivery via Royal Mail, no sign for required. Just a knock on the door and handover.
      No ethernet cables in my box or in any other ones I've tried, tested and helped install for other users.
      Also you did not show the new master socket filter, with the hilarious phone/sky hub writing upside down.
      Last edited by lettice; 17-05-16 at 07:46 PM.

    4. #3
      seawright's Avatar
      seawright is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2012
      Posts
      3,456
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 379 Times in 369 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Methinks someone tampered with it prior to dispatch.



      Strange though as the tear off strip on the box was still intact.
      Scubbie likes this.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      It is possible, as seawright has stated, that this wasn't shipped direct from the stores as a new Q Hub. There was some figure prints on the packaging around the Q Hub and a few on the Q Hub itself that weren't ours. We do know that many are asked to sign for their Sky Hubs. It's safer to mention that this is a possibility than to ignore it.

      Opening the box had to be completed in just the one take. Once opened, we couldn't really fake the opening it for a second take.

      As for disabling WPS, renaming the SSID and many other changes, we've deliberately kept the videos simple. Each is just 3 minutes long so should retain the interest of anyone who needs to know what has been conveyed. WPS is safe with Sky's routers. Without going into detail, there is a published hack against WPS. However Sky has taken measures to beat the hack.

      If you want to be thorough, you might be able to work out what the password is, but we changed that deliberately for the video.

      As for the SR101, well I've had that one since the Beta trial. In practise I send all the traffic to my WNDR3800. Again that was left out as it would confuse people more. However there are plenty of people who didn't upgrade to the SR102 and have either a Sagem 2504N or SR101. Both of these will need the BTO Modem if they have Fibre. If not, then the process will be a little easier.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Ajk2812's Avatar
      Ajk2812 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      I'm just wondering are there different versions of this sky q router. I've seen some with ventilation holes in the top and sides.

      Thanks



      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    7. #6
      tarsins's Avatar
      tarsins is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llanelli
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Mine has the ventilation holes.

      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos-image.jpg
      --
      Steve

    8. #7
      lettice's Avatar
      lettice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0.4 mile away and cabinet 350 yards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Max
      Router: ER110UK Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: SkyQ2tb + minis
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Location
      England
      Posts
      2,032
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 191 Times in 182 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Quote Originally Posted by Ajk2812 View Post
      I'm just wondering are there different versions of this sky q router. I've seen some with ventilation holes in the top and sides.
      Oh yes had not noticed that Yesterday.
      Mine and everyone other one I have seen has ventilation on the top and bottom, and the right with dummy ventilation on the left side.
      Just checked all the other sky hub unboxing videos, some that were on here when it first came out and all have the top ventilation.

      Was told the dummy holes on left are so you can stand it upright if you so wish, but its not recommended according to the help.
      But have seen a few sky q set-ups where the engineer has placed the sky q hub upright and not flat.

      Here is mine;
      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos-2016-05-13-17.55.40.jpg

      Also, when mine came it had a sticker on the underside of the box with the software version, the latest for customers.

      Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos-2016-05-18-06.46.35.jpg

      By the way the logistics company who send out the prepared (up-to-date software) boxed hub and forward all the text, email updates on the tracking journey are Unipart.

      Did notice on ebay, many sr101 and sr102 for sale at 15-25.
      Seems odd someone would buy one, when sky just send you a new replacement router without a quib.
      Last edited by lettice; 18-05-16 at 07:04 AM.

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to lettice For This Useful Post:

      Ajk2812 (18-05-16)

    10. #8
      Ajk2812's Avatar
      Ajk2812 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Thanks for the quick reply.Do you know if you can get a stand to mount it upright?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

    11. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,042
      Thanks
      827
      Thanked 2,202 Times in 2,072 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      I'm not opening this Q Hub up to confirm, but I suspect that the WiFi aerials will be placed in a manner which would make it better to have the Q Hub flat, hence the cooling holes on top.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Ajk2812 (18-05-16)

    13. #10
      Ajk2812's Avatar
      Ajk2812 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: St. Helens
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Q Hub : Upgrading to & Setting up videos

      Hi Scubbie. Have you any idea why the sky Q router in the video doesn't have any cooling holes in the top?


      Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION