Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    upnp

    This is a discussion on upnp within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; is it best to switch upnp off or leave it on ??? and what is it for ??...

    1. #1
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      upnp

      is it best to switch upnp off or leave it on ??? and what is it for ??


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      UPnP should allow other UPnP devices or applications to connect to your router with any required ports opened automatically.

      You might use this for P2P, on-line games etc.

      UPnP on the Sky router is known to give connection problems for some users.

      It is probably best to turn it of and set up port forwarding manually if/when you need it.

    4. #3
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      i port fowarded utorrrent and limwire opened out going ports do i need to open incoming as well???

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Whizz

      Its the incoming ports you need to open, by default afaik the router allows all outgoing ports




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #5
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cheers m8

    7. #6
      ringo1's Avatar
      ringo1 is offline Banned
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Liverpool
      Posts
      61
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      USB Devices Knocked Out

      Having The UPnP switched off does tend to make the line more stable, but it also seems to disconnect USB devices. For an Example when I switch mine Off I cannot use my Webcam on Skype & Yahoo Messenger, but for some bizarre reason it still works on MSN Windows Live Messenger.

    8. #7
      Hoagie's Avatar
      Hoagie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gedling (EMGDDLI)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Nottingham
      Posts
      271
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That's more likely to be because the software wants to route data in through your firewall. It's just co-incidence that the camera is USB.

      Unfortunately apps like webcam chat and VoIP phones tend to use random ports which makes forwarding them tricky to say the least. uPNP was supposed to solve this kind of issue but in reality it tends to be more of a security risk than anything. There are also many reports of it killing the sky connection.

    9. #8
      Christof's Avatar
      Christof is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: upnp

      Can I ask if there is any 'even worse' problem with UPnP on the Sagem router I recently received from Sky?

      I've been using an Apple app (iChat AV) to audio chat with other people including my parents. My parents are on the Sky Netgear (black) router with UPnP ON and using my Virgin BB account (I still have active) I have no issues establishing the audio chat. However, as soon as I try to switch to my Sky Sagem network and do the same I get failures in the connection unless I setup specific firewall rules. So it seems that the Sky Netgear handles the UPnP needed for the comms negotiation but the Sagem UPnP doesn't !!!?!

      Can anyone shed any light on this?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION