Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Maximum No. of connections is 8?

    This is a discussion on Maximum No. of connections is 8? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I spoke to a guy last week regarding the sky broadband box and asked him if there was no cap ...

    1. #1
      Reinforced Strangle Hold's Avatar
      Reinforced Strangle Hold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ellesmere Port
      Broadband ISP: Max Ordered
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Maximum No. of connections is 8?

      I spoke to a guy last week regarding the sky broadband box and asked him if there was no cap on the number of connections to the router.

      He said there is a cap of 8 connections. With the equipment in my house I will max this out as I have:

      2 laptops, 1 Media Center, 1 PC, 1 Print Server, 1 Netgear SC101 NAS, 1 SlingPlayer. My current DLink router has connected via the 4 ethernet ports 1 Laptop, the Media Center, the NAS and the Sling Player.

      Has Sky's modded box capped the number of connected machines to 8 (either WIFI or Ethernet) or the number of NAT requests out of the box?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      It's hard to imagine why Sky would cripple the router in this way and there's certainly no evidence of this in the router admin pages. But as I've never had more than 8 devices connected I can't tell you that what you've been told is rubbish (though I suspect it is).

    4. #3
      Reinforced Strangle Hold's Avatar
      Reinforced Strangle Hold is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ellesmere Port
      Broadband ISP: Max Ordered
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I hope that it isn't crippled as I forgot to also include in the list my Network Security Camera also which max's me out to the "8" quoted already!!!

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Welcome to the site Reinforced Strangle Hold

      I very much doubt they have crippled it I would say they are recommending you don't connect more than 8 things to it for safety reasons as its bound to get a lot hotter the more you connect to it.

      Some advice if you do connect so much to it make sure its upright on the legs supplied and well ventilated.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      have never heard anything about us crippling the router you probably got some noob taking a guess.

      however remember it is a netgear and if you connect all that to it Iwill be surprised if it does not enter self destruct and take your house with it lol

    7. #6
      FriarJnr's Avatar
      FriarJnr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      A lovely sleepy village!
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I was told 4!

      I just spoke to Sky this evening and asked a few questions before signing up. One of which was the max number of PC's able to connect and the guy told me 4! This stopped me from ordering and he made no attempt to talk me out of cancelling. I have a DG834GT at the moment and have had up to 10 PC's connected via a cabled switch with no probs. Can anyone confirm that they've had about 10 devices attached with no probs and no grief from Sky? Cheers.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

    9. #8
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Good call Fibre.
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    10. #9
      FriarJnr's Avatar
      FriarJnr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      A lovely sleepy village!
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      That's great ta, just had a read of it. I get that all users (devices) share 1 IP address, but does that guarantee that Sky can in no way pick up that more than the allowed number of devices (if such a limit does exist!) are connected? I personally can't see that they can but just want to confirm if poss before ordering. Cheers.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      You should be fine with the router and numerous PC's connected. The only IP that would show from any PC behind the router will be your normal Sky IP.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION