Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    wireless range

    This is a discussion on wireless range within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi. Can any existing Sky Broadband users tell me the wireless range of the Router? I have a loft conversion ...

    1. #1
      aks's Avatar
      aks
      aks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      wireless range

      Hi.

      Can any existing Sky Broadband users tell me the wireless range of the Router?

      I have a loft conversion in my house and with my current setup using the DG834G, the wireless range does not reach the furthest part of the house. Therefore I want to get a new router but seems as though Sky do not allow anything but the one they provide. So, is the wireless range of the DG834GT better than DG834G?

      Having a look at the specs on the Netgear website it doesn't seem so. Seems like I need the DG834PN, but Sky won't provide this to me will they (with me paying them extra for it)? And if I get it myself I can't use it because I have to use the Sky router.

      I know there is other equipment I can buy to extend the wireless range, but I would rather just have it coming from one place, the router. Any help would be appreciated.


      Update 15-11-06
      Ordered my Sky a week or so ago and they said the DG834GT was the only model they would provide. They wouldn't supply any other router or let me get one myself and set it up on my own.

      Connection is due to be enabled tomorrow so I shall see how far the range is, fingers crossed!


      Update 17-11-06
      Connection up and running yesterday. Connected router to main BT socket in the hall and get a low/medium wireless connection in the loft. I could try living with it, but I think I'm going to buy the wgxb102 and see how much that boosts it.
      Last edited by aks; 17-11-06 at 11:27 AM. Reason: update provided


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      if you dont have 3 feet concrete walls it will manage about 30 feet indoors through thin walls and plaster board, you have to watch though as some plaster board has metal backing and that can screw up the signal.

      so if its an issue take alook at the tech section and we shall show you how to get another router working

    4. #3
      aks's Avatar
      aks
      aks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the reply. To be honest I'm expecting the range to be the same as DG834G, which will not be good enough. I could buy the DG834PN (or equivalent router) myself and configure it after finding out how to extract my details, but that's about 80. So I was hoping Sky could sort it out for me as part of the sign-up and I could pay about/up to 50 extra

    5. #4
      Cyrus's Avatar
      Cyrus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Streetly - CMSTRE
      Broadband ISP: Max, 15.3MB Downstream! B E A Utiful
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Streetly
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Get yourself an extender, around 60 barr from eBuyer or somewhere.
      "If you are planning for a year, sow rice;
      if you are planning for a decade, plant trees;
      if you are planning for a lifetime, educate people."

    6. #5
      aks's Avatar
      aks
      aks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts


    7. #6
      Lolly's Avatar
      Lolly is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing LWEAL
      Broadband ISP: After no broadband for three months!
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Or you could try one of these plugged into the router provided by Sky:

      http://www.netgear.com/Products/Wire...ts/WPN802.aspx

      and one of these plugged into your computer:

      http://www.netgear.com/Products/Adap...rs/WPN111.aspx

      You can by them here for just shy of 115:

      http://www.pixmania.co.uk/uk/uk/1661...html?itag=5891
      Last edited by Lolly; 03-11-06 at 08:18 PM.
      Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory.

      I'm not dumb. I just have a command of thoroughly useless information.

    8. #7
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Or a 100m roll of CAT 5e cable for about 45!
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    9. #8
      H0OPERS's Avatar
      H0OPERS is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      52
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I had one guy asking could it reach his laptop from Chester while he was in vacation in italy...

    10. #9
      ellies14me's Avatar
      ellies14me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willenhall (01902)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Walsall
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Just out of interest, my Sky provided Router has a range just short of 25 feet. It works great in my study, but a laptop just 10 feet further away in another room starts to lose signal.

      I would imagine trying to use this in our soon to to be built loft extension will be a no-no, without getting some extra gear!

      Regards,
      Ian.

    11. #10
      aks's Avatar
      aks
      aks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Update provided on original post.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION