Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Router Stats

    This is a discussion on Router Stats within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; You guys are great. I had my wireless router plugged into an upstairs phone socket as my PC is in ...

    1. #1
      sugarbabyluv's Avatar
      sugarbabyluv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rossendale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Talking Router Stats

      You guys are great. I had my wireless router plugged into an upstairs phone socket as my PC is in my attic and naturally you think of putting your wireless router in an area where the whole house would get a cracking signal.

      My stats were as follows

      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 397 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 21.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 24.5 db

      I've plugged my router into my master BT thingy and now the stats are

      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 397 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 21.2 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 24.5 db

      Erm, whats this mean?

      Is this what was causing the problem?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      It means you have a very good connection with your mastersocket (high noise margin is good) and a mediocre one with the extension.

    4. #3
      sugarbabyluv's Avatar
      sugarbabyluv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rossendale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      So was this causing my outages? The reason I ask is I'm still within my 8 days where I can cancel. If connecting to my master socket for the BB stops the problems does this say my faceplate is faulty? Should I be replacing the faceplate? CAn I use a splitter and filter so I can have my phone and BB permanently connected to the master?

      soz for all the questions. Its pointless cancelling Sky BB if I'm going to have the same problems with another provider.

    5. #4
      fubofo's Avatar
      fubofo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: NTL
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      BELFAST
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi, yea you should use your master socket with a microfilter then your router and phone coming from the filter. The problem with upstairs socket is it basically is an extension from the master socket, and DSL signal doesnt carry very well on extensions (to do with the cable inside the wall, not the faceplate).

    6. #5
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by sugarbabyluv View Post
      You guys are great. I had my wireless router plugged into an upstairs phone socket as my PC is in my attic and naturally you think of putting your wireless router in an area where the whole house would get a cracking signal.

      My stats were as follows

      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 397 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 21.2 db
      Noise Margin 6.1 db 24.5 db

      I've plugged my router into my master BT thingy and now the stats are

      Connection Speed 8190 kbps 397 kbps
      Line Attenuation 36.5 db 21.2 db
      Noise Margin 14.3 db 24.5 db

      Erm, whats this mean?

      Is this what was causing the problem?
      how do you get these stats??? is it from thr router??

    7. #6
      sugarbabyluv's Avatar
      sugarbabyluv is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Rossendale
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yup, just connect to the router via url to 192.168.0.1, enter your username and password, scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Show Statistics'

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION