Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By Isitme

    What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

    This is a discussion on What "make" is the Sky SR101 ? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Just wondering as a quick search didn't find anything so I assume its Sky's own make ? Thinking of changing ...

    1. #1
      topgazza's Avatar
      topgazza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Just wondering as a quick search didn't find anything so I assume its Sky's own make ?

      Thinking of changing it with my Airport Extreme and wondered if any of the username/password generators here worked with the 101 ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Just wondering as a quick search didn't find anything so I assume its Sky's own make ?

      Yes the router carries the Sky logo on the PCB so is manufactured specifically for Sky.

      You will find all you need to know about the password by perusing this section - Extracting Sky Router passwords

      Are you on Fibre? If not you will not be able to use the AE to connect to ADSL. You will also need a modem.
      topgazza likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      topgazza's Avatar
      topgazza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Just wondering as a quick search didn't find anything so I assume its Sky's own make ?

      Yes the router carries the Sky logo on the PCB so is manufactured specifically for Sky.

      You will find all you need to know about the password by perusing this section - Extracting Sky Router passwords

      Are you on Fibre? If not you will not be able to use the AE to connect to ADSL. You will also need a modem.
      Thanks... I thought it was Sky's own so nice to have it confirmed. I was looking at a decent modem/router from the usual culprits such as Netgear, Billion, Vigor but of course if I bought an ac one I wouldn't need the AE anymore. But to be fair the Sky hub works OK as a broadband modem and with main devices on the 5GHz band iPhones/iPads on the 2.4GHz band from the AE wired in to the hub I get great WiFi service through out the house. So I'll probably leave it as is.

      I don't have fibre to the house but do have the option to use, via our unbundled exchange, Sky or Talk Talk or BT/Plusnet fibre services as we are FTTC in our area so I wouldn't need a specific fibre modem, I believe, as its copper to the house. Tempted to stay with Sky and upgrade to the "fibre" service in which case I assume I would keep the existing hub ?

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Tempted to stay with Sky and upgrade to the "fibre" service in which case I assume I would keep the existing hub ?
      Fibre users are supplied with a SR102 which is similar to the 101, except it is black and has a built in vDSL modem, meaning a separate modem is not required.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      topgazza's Avatar
      topgazza is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2014
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Fibre users are supplied with a SR102 which is similar to the 101, except it is black and has a built in vDSL modem, meaning a separate modem is not required.
      I know this is probably a stupid question but given that I am fibre to cabinet, not house, I always thought i didn't need a "fibre" modem/router as essentially its just a faster copper service at the point of entering the house. So is the SR102 just a different colour SR101 with the vDSL function to save a Openreach visit ?

      Must admit it staggers me that Sky miss opportunity after opportunity to get a decent AC and gigabit featured device like some of the other big players. It beggars belief what their design department is on and if they have ever looked at what the rest of the market offers

      - - - Updated - - -

    7. #6
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      Quote Originally Posted by topgazza View Post
      I know this is probably a stupid question but given that I am fibre to cabinet, not house, I always thought i didn't need a "fibre" modem/router as essentially its just a faster copper service at the point of entering the house. So is the SR102 just a different colour SR101 with the vDSL function to save a Openreach visit ?

      Must admit it staggers me that Sky miss opportunity after opportunity to get a decent AC and gigabit featured device like some of the other big players. It beggars belief what their design department is on and if they have ever looked at what the rest of the market offers

      - - - Updated - - -
      The ADSL modem in the SR101 cannot do anything with the VDSL signal from the fibre cab, so that is why the SR102 is supplied by Sky if you don't have it already when ordering fibre.
      I agree on the points about it not being up to speed with the rest of the market; I hope that we see an improved modem router launched before the year is out.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: What "make" is the Sky SR101 ?

      I know this is probably a stupid question
      Maybe you should have a look through our dedicated 'Fibre' section.-

      Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION