Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Set up wireless network between PC and laptop

    This is a discussion on Set up wireless network between PC and laptop within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I had my PC and laptop connected wirelessly before sky, but now I just cant get them to talk ...

    1. #1
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      Set up wireless network between PC and laptop

      Hi,

      I had my PC and laptop connected wirelessly before sky, but now I just cant get them to talk to each other.

      I have re-ran the network setup wizard and also the wireless network setup wizard, but both with no joy. Is there anything special I need to do with the netgear router?

      Thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      MMG13's Avatar
      MMG13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Do you have a netgear wireless card?

    4. #3
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,074
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 92 Times in 85 Posts

      I have the netgear usb wirless adapter on the main Pc and the standard wireless adapter in the laptop (thinks its intel).

    5. #4
      MMG13's Avatar
      MMG13 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      It's a long shot but when i got sky Broadband - i was told that i could use any type of wireless adapter for my laptop - I went out and bought one (Belkin) and i could not set up the network. after 45 mins on the phone to tech help, we finally realised that i didn't have a netgear wireless adapter - i was told that sky broadband only recognise netgear WA - so off i went to get one and sure enough, it worked!

      I'm sure that you must be able to use other WA but Belkin definately doesn't work and in v small print in the Sky Broadband handbook, it does say that they recommend Netgear WA - so its worth a try.

    6. #5
      Naeris's Avatar
      Naeris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      N Yorks
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Are you using zonealarm or other non-xp firewall? If so, you need to edit your lan settings there. I had this problem when I set up sky too.
      Last edited by Naeris; 29-10-06 at 10:55 PM. Reason: spelling!

    7. #6
      Leon's Avatar
      Leon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bearwood
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I am using a Belkin wireless adaptor on my notebook and that works fine. Cant see why Sky would say you can only use Netgear.
      "I wanna be a Guitar Hero"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION