Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Can't login to router?

    This is a discussion on Can't login to router? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Like everyone else my router loses its connection everyday. All the correct lights are lit correctly on the router and ...

    1. #1
      Readie's Avatar
      Readie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Can't login to router?

      Like everyone else my router loses its connection everyday. All the correct lights are lit correctly on the router and turning the power off to the computer & router gets me back online (until the next time).

      Not being to much of a techy person can someone explain to me why when the internet drops i am unable to login to the router even though its just 2 feet away down the LAN cable?

      i'm slowly losing the will to live....


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      Some people get disconnected every day.

      If you read the forum then you'll see there are two common reasons:

      Could be the UPnP problem. Turn it off in your router and then reboot router and PC. See if that improves things.

      Could be increasing noise in the evenings leading to the noise margin dropping below threshold.

      If you want a more informative answer you'll need to post more information - when do you lose connection? - what are your router stats?

    4. #3
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      It could be that in your case the loss of connection could be on the lan side. Is your connection working i.e. shifting data when it disconnects or is it idle?
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    5. #4
      Readie's Avatar
      Readie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      My connection drops after about 10 mins, then usually after powering down, powering up, everything is ok for the rest of the night.
      My attenuation is about 44db and my noise thingy between 15-16.

    6. #5
      Readie's Avatar
      Readie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by LNB View Post
      It could be that in your case the loss of connection could be on the lan side. Is your connection working i.e. shifting data when it disconnects or is it idle?
      Sorry for being a lamo, what does that mean? the little computer on the task bar says 2mb connected and the internet ligh on the router is lit but cant load any pages. I have already done the Upnp tweek.

    7. #6
      StevesRoom's Avatar
      StevesRoom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLLI
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      20
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Post hi! bud.

      ok here is a few things you can try.

      ------------------------------------------
      first of all reset your tcp ip stack.

      To reset the TCP/IP protocol stack, do the following:

      Click Start and select Run from the menu.

      The Run dialogue box appears.

      In the Open field, enter the following command: netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt.

      Click OK.

      a dos window wil appear and your done restart pc.
      -----------------------------------------------------

      then disconnect the lan cable and remove all connection settings for the pc. including all dialup connections.

      then shut down the pc.

      then power off the router disconnect form the wall and reset.


      now reconect the pc to the router and the router to the wall.

      then reboot the pc and the router.

      and try now.

      if you still have problems after that you can contact me and i will help live and direct online.

    8. #7
      Readie's Avatar
      Readie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Luton
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      cheers, will try when i get home this evening!

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION