Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Wireless Cards

    This is a discussion on Wireless Cards within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Bah. I hate them. Right. I got a Netgear WPN311 when we got our router, and all was great in ...

    1. #1
      Fox McCloud's Avatar
      Fox McCloud is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEMI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cool Wireless Cards

      Bah.
      I hate them.

      Right. I got a Netgear WPN311 when we got our router, and all was great in the beginning.
      And then, slowly over time my signal got worse and worse, untill it decides to tell me there is No Signal lol (yet I can connect to our neighbours across the road...with a nice d/l speed of 80kb)

      The router is in the next room lol.
      Grrr.
      And yet my laptop, in the same place as the PC, with an old Buffalo 54g PCMCIA card has excellent signal.

      Warning to users!
      Do not buy a WPN311. They suck. And the rest of the net knows this as I only just decided to look for reviews on the fecking thing, and found out it sucks.

      If buying a PCI card, go for a Dlink, I had a Dlink MIMO router and MIMO card at my old house and they ruled all, no problems at all.

      So..Ive dragged a 10m ethernet cable around hte room, under the carpet and so forth, and now I have a lovely and stable connection to the net.

      fin netgear. Useless mongrels.
      Gonna get myself the ADSL version of the Dlink MIMO I had I think....afterall...it is ****hot.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Barolo's Avatar
      Barolo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth, Middlesex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      If you want to avoid using the long ethernet cable you might want to try a pair of devolo plugs that send the network over your power network, my brother swears by them as he has a cottage with thick walls which makes wireless pretty useless.

    4. #3
      akita's Avatar
      akita is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Trentham WMTRE
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Posts
      178
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      ^^^ I'd second that - I use them & they're fantastic! There are now a number of suppliers - google 'homeplug' & you'll get loads of choice - youi can even get speeds of 200 Mbps ... !!!!
      Rachel

    5. #4
      Benny's Avatar
      Benny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I will have to investigate these develo plug thingys of which you speak .
      Last edited by Benny; 24-10-06 at 02:03 AM.

    6. #5
      Fox McCloud's Avatar
      Fox McCloud is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NEMI
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Middlesbrough
      Posts
      40
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Netgear do them too.
      Basically you plug this devicve into your power socket, and plug your router into it.
      Then another device goes into the power socket near the pc, and an ethernet cable from it to pc.
      And thats it.
      Obviously transfer speeds of anything above 100MB will only be usefull if you have a gigabit cable/nic........and a SATAII drive with write speeds of 300Mbp/s

    7. #6
      Benny's Avatar
      Benny is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Edgware
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Would this be an appropriate develo type plug to buy ?

      http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...ufacturer_id=0

    8. #7
      Barolo's Avatar
      Barolo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth, Middlesex
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Don't forget that you need two of the plugs, therefore the 200mb one that you have found will work at out at 130 for a pair.

      If you don't need super high speed between your router and Pc, then you can get a pair of 14mbps ones for 66 at: http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

      or 85mbps for 94
      http://www.dabs.com/productview.aspx...avigationKey=0

      The netgear high speed ones may are obviously higher spec, as they says on big brother "You Decide !". I'd be interested to hear how your get on.

      Good Luck

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION