Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 37 of 37

    Please help Greenhorn - Resolved

    This is a discussion on Please help Greenhorn - Resolved within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I am beginning to think that I have a faulty router, My previous set-up with AOL by a D-Link router ...

    1. #31
      gremlin1's Avatar
      gremlin1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I am beginning to think that I have a faulty router, My previous set-up with AOL by a D-Link router was a breeze .


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      can you connect the laptop to the router with an ethernet cable just to try?




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #33
      gremlin1's Avatar
      gremlin1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well don't ask me how, but the whole thing is working !!. I just noticed in the toolbar of the laptop that my network icon looked slightly different and I clicked on Internet explorer just for the hell of it and Bingo, I was connected. Not only that, but my download speed through the desktop had increased significantly. I am now really pleased, I had thought about going back to AOL but I won't be considering that now.
      Thanks for all your help, you have been very patient.

    5. #34
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Glad you got it working, just frustrating to not know how you solved it, as long as its working - cool

      Report the problem again if you need more help and I will mark this one as resolved




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    6. #35
      Scrubbless's Avatar
      Scrubbless is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benfleet, Essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      42
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Hugsie, the wireless on the laptop shows "Acquiring network address" constantly, when I try the repair option it tells me it is renewing IP adress, but takes forever without anything happening.
      Acquiring network address does not mean that it is conncted.

      This generally happens when you enter the Encryption key incorrectly.

      Open up your wireless network, where it displays all the Wireless networks available to you. Click the preffered link to the left and 'remove' your link from the list of 'Preffered' networks.

      I suspect that you accidently keyed the WPA key in wrong when you first tried to connect, and that is why it is not authenticating with the router.

      Come out and open up the Available Wireless networks and try to connect to your network again, it will pop up with a prompt for the Encryption key. Enter it again, if you want to be sure treat it as 'case sensitive' so use upper case letters etc if the key has them. Your encryption key will be on your Sky Wireless Key Card, if you have not changed it.

      But you could confirm this with your Desktop PC. To do this open up a web browser on your Desktop machine, and type 192.168.0.1 into it, this is the address of your router. Enter the Username/password.. Usually Admin/Sky. Once in the interface click the Wireless link to the left and it should have your WPA key just below.

      If this still does not work, it may be a problem with the Wireless card/Router compatability.
      I had a Netgear router once upon a time that wouldn't work with 1 of my 3 wireless cards... don't know why to this day.. I guess it was an older version of Wireless card before the standardisations came into play

      Give the 'clean slate' approach a go.. If not maybe change your Encryption to WEP, Since I know some XP machine pre SP2 don't support WPA encryption.

    7. #36
      gremlin1's Avatar
      gremlin1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      16
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just reporting everything seems ok still

    8. #37
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Good to hear it

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION