Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 13

    Router Firmware

    This is a discussion on Router Firmware within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Does anyone know what version of the Netgear firmware Sky use as there base - I assuming that the Sky ...

    1. #1
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router Firmware

      Does anyone know what version of the Netgear firmware Sky use as there base - I assuming that the Sky firmware is just modified Netgear firmware rather than completely new stuff.

      Sky version = V1.02.28

      Netgear Versions = 1.02.04, 1.01.28, 1.01.00

      Cheers,

      Nigel


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its just a slight modification to Netgears one, As only a couple of options are hidden!

    4. #3
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Its just a slight modification to Netgears one, As only a couple of options are hidden!
      Yep, I guessed that, but what I want to know is which version of the Netgear firmware they have based it on.

      For example if it is based on Netgear 1.01.00 then it is missing the bug fixes that Netgear applied to 1.01.28 and 1.02.04.

      It would be interesting to know whether Sky would ever roll out firmware fixes for the router - I doubt it, because I can imagine a good number of the Sky users being confused or getting it wrong - leading to a massive support headache.

      Which leads me to the theory that whilst Netgear might respond to the problems being discovered on the DG834GT and develop fixes we will probably never benefit as Sky customers.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    5. #4
      dingdong's Avatar
      dingdong is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      591
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      I believe the sky routers poll for firmware upgrades, if one is available on sky's server it will do it automatically.

    6. #5
      Jose Cardoso's Avatar
      Jose Cardoso Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Having thoroughly examined Sky's firmware I can confirm it is based on NETGEAR's 1.02.04 release with more modifications than just configuration pages being removed.

      Additional content includes a program that regularly checks (appears to be daily) a server at Sky for any firmware updates which it will then automatically download and update if necessary. Having extracted the address of the server the router is looking at I can confirm nothing new is available at the moment. In fact the server doesn't even appear to be setup yet.

    7. #6
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Good morning, Jose. You beat me to this reply by a matter of seconds.
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    8. #7
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks for the info guys.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    9. #8
      mossywell's Avatar
      mossywell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSMEPK
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      London, UK
      Posts
      789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
      Nigel - I see you're keen to get involved with this router at a lower level. Perhaps you might want to consider joining in the tech forum?
      IQ album "Dark Matter" artwork reproduced with permission. See www.gep.co.uk/iq for more information.

    10. #9
      Jose Cardoso's Avatar
      Jose Cardoso Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Quote Originally Posted by mossywell View Post
      Good morning, Jose. You beat me to this reply by a matter of seconds.
      Pure coincidence. Honest.

    11. #10
      Geothermalcat's Avatar
      Geothermalcat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      [IMG]http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e185/geothermalcat/netgearrthe****e.jpg[/IMG]

      howdy, anyone ever had this problem?

      it loads, but gets buggy and kinda becomes unresponsive.

      any ideas?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION