Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 19 of 19

    Frequant loss of connection

    This is a discussion on Frequant loss of connection within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; A really low Noise Margin could make it constantly disconnect? @darylt, Do you know if BT Recently changed any BT ...

    1. #11
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      A really low Noise Margin could make it constantly disconnect?

      @darylt, Do you know if BT Recently changed any BT-PhonePoints at your house?

      As it could be you have a newer BT-PhonePoint and his (Father-in-Law) is old!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      darylt's Avatar
      darylt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bracknell
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      A really low Noise Margin could make it constantly disconnect?

      @darylt, Do you know if BT Recently changed any BT-PhonePoints at your house?

      As it could be you have a newer BT-PhonePoint and his (Father-in-Law) is old!
      Good point!

      The first phone point in my house has the removable plate thingy, where as the one in my father-in-laws house is a standard bow which is fed from a really old GPO style box.....

    4. #13
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      You say connection dropping, Can you just confirm that its " The Internet Connection" or PC!

      My old computer with XP use to frequently disconnected until I changed a setting in XP which meant that the computer didnt shutdown the ethernet device after a while!

      Also see how you go!

    5. #14
      darylt's Avatar
      darylt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bracknell
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      You say connection dropping, Can you just confirm that its " The Internet Connection" or PC!

      My old computer with XP use to frequently disconnected until I changed a setting in XP which meant that the computer didnt shutdown the ethernet device after a while!

      Also see how you go!
      The router still says that it is connected to the internet, the PC says that it is connected to the router, however I have to reboot both the router and the PC in order to reconnect MSN Messenger, see internet and dowload emails.

    6. #15
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Well we'll wait till youve tried swapping the routers over but that does seem dodgey?


      Is this your reffering to as Connected on the router!

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB018e.d16f
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 7243 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 766 kbps
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      or this?

      Connection Time 01:03:31
      Connecting to Server Connected
      Negotiation Success
      Authentication Success
      Getting IP Addresses 90.194.228.250
      Getting Network Mask 255.255.255.255

    7. #16
      darylt's Avatar
      darylt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bracknell
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      This and also in Network Connections
      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      Connection Time 01:03:31
      Connecting to Server Connected
      Negotiation Success
      Authentication Success
      Getting IP Addresses 90.194.228.250
      Getting Network Mask 255.255.255.255

    8. #17
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Thats seems fine, Have you tried, renewing the ip from the computer when this happens,

      try

      Run > cmd > ipconfig /renew

      See if that makes a difference other then that, Have you disabled UPnP?

    9. #18
      darylt's Avatar
      darylt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bracknell
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Bracknell
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      UPnP disabled

      I have renewed the ip by doing the repair thing in internet connections....

    10. #19
      Christopher's Avatar
      Christopher is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sacriston
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Durham
      Posts
      78
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dingdong View Post
      Make sure you are getting a good signal strength between the router and the wireless card. A weak signal or signal that is interrupted may cause the link to drop
      the the OP say his father was connected through ethernet?

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION