Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    NM less than 5!!!

    This is a discussion on NM less than 5!!! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, I am on the broadband max package with sky. After severe problems getting activated I now have a flakey ...

    1. #1
      bwfcboy's Avatar
      bwfcboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bolton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Smile NM less than 5!!!

      Hi,
      I am on the broadband max package with sky.
      After severe problems getting activated I now have a flakey connection. If I leave it alone for more than half an hour its gone!

      I followed the sticky on `loss of connection, possible fix`.
      My NM reading between 8pm and 9.30pm was between 5.0 and 6.0 which, according to what I have read here is too low. When I rebooted the router I was expecting the NM to rise...but its not its gone the other way. Now its at around about 4.5 to 5.3! Methinks summats not right here!? Any help anyone please!!
      Note:- The line attenuation hasn`t budged from 51 all evening and according to line tests I should be able to get 4meg

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1626 1430 0 345 1333 00:14:45
      LAN 10M/100M 2144 2305 0 1687 460 00:15:25
      WLAN 11M/54M/108M 148 16660 0 20 270 00:15:15


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 2848 kbps 1024 kbps
      Line Attenuation 51.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 5.6 db 6.0 db
      Last edited by bwfcboy; 15-10-06 at 11:15 PM. Reason: added stats!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      bwfcboy's Avatar
      bwfcboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bolton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      to add to this,

      i left the connection alone for 3 hours and it went off.

      i logged on to the router and the nm was 1.2
      i rebooted again and it rose to 5.6 but still took several minutes to connect again. `LCP down` kept showing in the connection status box

      i am only 2.3kms from my local exchange as the crow flies. thats not far is it?
      if I need sky to slow the connection I`ll be down to less than 2 meg speed??!!
      HELP someone please HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLPPPPPP!

    4. #3
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      2.3Km As the crow files is really bad...

      im 611m As the Crow Files and my Actual Distance is around 1.3km...

      Do the maths... Also try resetting your router.. Place a small pin into the back of your router into the RESET hole!

    5. #4
      nheather's Avatar
      nheather is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Carfax, Horsham (SDHRSHM)
      Broadband ISP: Paying more to get Unlimited so that I get the same service as the MID I signed up for
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Horsham, West Sussex
      Posts
      219
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      2.3Km As the crow files is really bad...
      Some truth in that but not that bad. Trouble is, the direct distance is largely irrelevent - its the path the cable takes that matters.

      I'm 2.27Km from the excahnge but the actual cable distance is 3.6Kms.

      Having said that, I get an attenuation of 48dB, SNR Margin between 4 and 8 and a sync between 6000 and 7000kbps.

      So I think you should be doing better that.

      Have you ruled out your house wiring by connecting directly to the Master test socket?

      (i) Locate the Master Socket
      (ii) Undo the two screws and remove the front cover
      (iii) The front cover will have some wires attached it - these goes to your house telephone extensions. You will see that the front cover attaches to the back plate by plugging into a standard telephone socket (this is what is known as the test socket).
      (iv) plug your router directly into this socket and see what connection you get.

      What this is doing is connecting the router directly to the telephone line and physically disconnecting all other extensions.

      Cheers,

      Nigel

    6. #5
      bwfcboy's Avatar
      bwfcboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bolton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi, its actually not on the main socket but I have tried this without success. What you suggest is worth a go though. Thanks!

    7. #6
      bwfcboy's Avatar
      bwfcboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bolton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Hi,
      I have followed the advice above with the following result

      When in the test socket I am getting a d/l connection speed of 4700

      If I put the cover back on and plug in to the main socket then this drops to 3000. If I then plug in to the upstairs socket (wired in with main socket) I get 2900

      If I plug the third extension socket in to the system then the connection speed is between 2700 and 2900 on all 3 sockets.

      My NM figure is between 5 and 6 consistently at all times
      My U/L speed is consistent at 1024 at all times
      The Line Attenuation d/l and u/l is consistent at 51/31.5 at all times.

      Conclusion - The socket seems to be faulty but is that the root cause?!
      I spoke to Sky tonight and they said there is no requirement for the NM to be greater than 6 to maintain connection. They gave me a BT number to call to report the socket as faulty but I`m not sure that this will ultimately solve the problem!!

    8. #7
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi

      Try this at your own risk

      Open the socket again and disconnect the orange wires, so only the blue/white and white/blue are connected, and then try

      If this sorts it leave it as it is, if it doesnt you will need a krone tool to reconnect the orange wire.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    9. #8
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It is not that the socket is faulty necessarily, it is just that the extensions on the back of socket are unfiltered and create noise which interferes with your ADSL connection.

      A filtered faceplate such as those from ADSL Nation would allow you to filter even your rear extention and should give similar results to the master socket!

    10. #9
      bwfcboy's Avatar
      bwfcboy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bolton
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      thanks hugsie,
      i will look at that!

      Im still not sure about this NM figure though!
      If it is less than 6 is this bad? Is it an inverse calculation because otherwise surely low noise is better?

    11. #10
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I believe it is signal to noise ratio, and higher is better.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION