Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Connecting router to pc

    This is a discussion on Connecting router to pc within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi there everyone. I'am having problems trying to plug in my router into my pc. Basically, this yellow ethernet cable ...

    1. #1
      abbeyb37's Avatar
      abbeyb37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Unhappy Connecting router to pc

      Hi there everyone.

      I'am having problems trying to plug in my router into my pc.

      Basically, this yellow ethernet cable does not fit anywhere in the back of my pc, and the closest thing that looks anything like the socket it should fit into, contains a detachable cable from my modem to the telephone line, but the socket itself is smaller and fatter than what the ethernet cable can fit into.

      Does this mean that I cannot use Sky BB at all, and if so, what would be the procedure of returning the box and getting my money back?

      Thank you,
      Abbeyb37


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Hi Abbey it sounds like you do not have an ethernet card.

      That really is not Sky's fault and tbh the cost of an ethernet card (approx 5) really does not justify the cost saving if you were to cancel on Sky.

      Even if you take your PC to a computer shop, expect to pay no more than 15.00 for the card and fitting.

      If you buy the card yourself it will only take 2 - 3 mins to fit.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    4. #3
      davidw's Avatar
      davidw is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uxbridge
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The other option, assuming that the PC has a recent operating system (ie Millenium / XP or at a push 98) and a spare USB port is to buy either a wireless network connector (from Sky or others) or a USB / Ethernet device. That way the back doesn't have to come off the machine.

    5. #4
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi,
      As suggested above:
      Wireless adaptor -
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/s/ref=nb_ss_...o.x=12&Go.y=14

      or

      Ethernet Network Card
      http://www.amazon.co.uk/Belkin-Ether...&s=electronics

      Both simple to setup in minutes.
      G

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      I personally reccomend you go for the PCI-Ethernet aka NIC card.. It will work better in the longrun... If you want il create a guide on how to install the stuff...

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Helpie!

      Looks like you have one of these built-in to your machine right!




      You need a new one like these...




      Like someone mentioned, They are really Cheap, Visit your local computer shop... Pick one-up for around 5max... realy easy to install.. Make sure you get a Plug&Play one...

    8. #7
      abbeyb37's Avatar
      abbeyb37 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Red face

      Thank you so much for your help everyone.

      I think I may be able to set up the USB to ethernet connector to the back of my pc, however I would prefer to have the ethernet card itself; would installing this card mean opening up the back of my unit and slotting it in somewhere, (lol, i'am useless at these things)?

      Thanks,
      Abbeyb37

    9. #8
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      yes you would have to open up the pc box and the card would fit into one of the white slots on your motherboard they can be a tight fit so be gentle but firm

      Glenn
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Quote Originally Posted by abbeyb37 View Post
      Thank you so much for your help everyone.

      I think I may be able to set up the USB to ethernet connector to the back of my pc, however I would prefer to have the ethernet card itself; would installing this card mean opening up the back of my unit and slotting it in somewhere, (lol, i'am useless at these things)?

      Thanks,
      Abbeyb37

      Personally DONT get a USB2Ethernet Adapter.......

      If you want il make a tutorial on how to install a PCI-Network card!

    11. #10
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Yes, it does envolve opening up the PC!

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION