Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    What do the stats mean please?

    This is a discussion on What do the stats mean please? within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi My router keeps freezing and needs rebooting about 4 times per day. I can't plug into master socket as ...

    1. #1
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What do the stats mean please?

      Hi
      My router keeps freezing and needs rebooting about 4 times per day.
      I can't plug into master socket as this is in the loft.
      Have done a speed test which shows
      download 3433
      upload 641
      Latency 173ms
      Server London
      Distance 50 mi

      My router stats show
      connection 8000
      Line att. 27.0
      Noise margin 5.8

      I don't understand what it means ~ do I have a problem.

      I was previously with NewNet on 8mb with a Netgear router DG834G ~ never had to reboot and always seemed fast although I never did a speed test.

      Currently waiting for Sky to call me.

      Thanks for any help.

      Allison


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      garyb's Avatar
      garyb is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Peterborough Central
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Peterborough UK
      Posts
      152
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi allisont,
      Take a look here -
      Router Freeze, Loss of Connection Possible Fix

      G

    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,086
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 52 Times in 47 Posts
      There are two things going on here - possibly related.

      The connection from your master socket to where you plug your router in isn't good - with your attenuation you should get better than 8000 connection.

      Your noise margin is a bit low at 5.9.

      The immediate fix is to reboot your router when the noise margin is at its lowest (probably around 9:00 in the evening) and leave it on. That way it will have re-synced and given you the best connection it can.

      Longer term consider getting a new filtered master socket fitted near the router or get a good quality extension fitted running from a replacement filtered master socket that has an unfiltered extension capability. This needn't cost you more than 20 if you do it yourself - it's very easy.

    5. #4
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      and leave it on
      Thanks for your replies.
      Do you mean leave the computer on all the time or not to switch off the router (which I never do anyway).
      Thanks
      Allison

    6. #5
      hinz's Avatar
      hinz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Thurnby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Leicester
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      He means don't switch the router off

      hinz

    7. #6
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      What I don't understand though is.....
      Why didn't I experience these freezes with my previous ISP (Newnet) and my Netgear DG834G router.
      I was on 8mb (unsure what I was getting though) but it never froze up.

      Is the Sky router a lot more sensitive??

      Thanks
      Allison

    8. #7
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      i would say it not the router but the whole LLU system that is more sensitive,
      is your router upright on the little white feet that come with it ..?
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #8
      allisont's Avatar
      allisont is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: brentwood, essex
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes the router is on its feet.
      What does LLU mean?
      Thanks
      Allison

    10. #9
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      What does LLU mean?
      LLU is the shortened name for Local Loop Unbundling

      In simple terms BT have an Exchange, which is where Broadband comes from. Before LLU BT were really the only suppliers of BB and so the price was fixed as other ISP's were forced to rent the equipment from BT.

      Companies like Easynet (Sky own) have now rented part of the exchange from BT and put their own equipment into the exchange. Now that ISP's have their own kit in the exchange they can effectively change their pricing as the costs should be theoretically cheaper. This technology that LLU uses effectively is better than BT's as it can deliver faster speeds.

      Hope that helps




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION