Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 19
    Like Tree1Likes

    Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

    This is a discussion on Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Ok I have done alot of reading regaurding skys new fiber & non-sky routers.. I have been with sky for ...

    1. #1
      lMaXl's Avatar
      lMaXl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Ok I have done alot of reading regaurding skys new fiber & non-sky routers..

      I have been with sky for a couple of years now on their normal adsl using an old username & password from an old netgear router bought off ebay.. I got my Draytek working fine by using the mac address & user/pass, this worked fine all this time.
      (I use to run a second line using BT Infinity with the Draytek & openreach modem which worked fine)

      2 days ago I got my fiber upgrade an the sagem router with the openreach modem setup. Tried to get the Draytek and the openreach modem to work but I cant seem to get any connection using settings:

      Connection Type: MER / MPoA (RFC1483/2684)
      Encapsulation: Bridged IP VC-Mux
      VPI: 0
      VCI: 40

      Has anyone cracked the mer yet?? or got the Draytek 2820n working on a fiber connection???..
      Any info will be great.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      kosch's Avatar
      kosch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haverhill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      you have any joy with this yet? The engineer is turning up tomorrow and sky haven't shipped my router yet and ideally I'd like to use my 2820n

    4. #3
      kosch's Avatar
      kosch is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haverhill
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited


    5. #4
      lMaXl's Avatar
      lMaXl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Quote Originally Posted by kosch View Post
      Thats for the 2830 :-( altho im still waiting.. Hope they get support soon.

    6. #5
      lMaXl's Avatar
      lMaXl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      nvm contacted Draytek an got a beta firmware (3.3.7.2 RC3a) for the Vigor 2820n an after doing the options its connected!!
      Still using the Sky modem as the 2820n only supports adsl but it has a connection an im back on the net woohoo!
      Made this post using this setup Now my Sky router is going in the bin!! best place for it, I think you'd agree :evil:

      THANKYOU Draytek!!!!
      rederick likes this.

    7. #6
      rederick's Avatar
      rederick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      England
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Great news IMaXI - I've just signed up for Sky Fibre and have a 2820, and have the 3.3.7.2 RC3a firmware sitting ready :-)
      BT Infinity 2 FTTC (19/09/2012) - Sync: 52 Mbps / 9 Mbps - (Would consider Sky if static IP available).

    8. #7
      sjphone's Avatar
      sjphone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: DrayTek Vigor2820n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Hi am trying to get my DrayTek Vigor 2820n to work and i beleve i need firmware 3.3.7.2_RC3a does anyone have this? or know where i can get it from as i have contacted DrayTek and they say it will not work

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      That's strange, point them here -
      https://www.draytek.co.uk/download/s...adme_v2820.txt

      They may not know it works so ask them for it anyway, all firmware is installed at the users risk.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      sjphone's Avatar
      sjphone is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: DrayTek Vigor2820n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2016
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Thanks for the reply Isitme, i'm not seening anything on that link relating to firmware 3.3.7.2_RC3a

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Draytek 2820n on Sky Fibre Unlimited

      Its for a later version which normally covers the older versions. Remember this thread is over 3 tears old,

      Release Notes for Vigor2820 series Firmware Version : 3.3.7.6 (Release) Release Date : 16th February 2015 Build Date : 14th January 2015 Applicable Models : Vigor2820, Vigor2820n, Vigor2820Vn, Vigor2820Vsn ADSL Modem Code : 232201 Locale : UK Only / Annex A Only (inc UK Annex M)

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION