Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

    This is a discussion on Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; After having a problem with my original Sky Sagem 2304n router, Sky sent me out a brand new replacement 2504n ...

    1. #1
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

      After having a problem with my original Sky Sagem 2304n router, Sky sent me out a brand new replacement 2504n router.
      However after using it for just under 2 weeks, I am having a problem with it.

      It has worked fine for my broadband, the wireless range is much better than the 2304 and I have had no resyncs at all.
      However last week and again this morning, I noticed that the router had all its settings reset back to factory defaults.
      As I had changed the Wireless Name and password, my laptop refused to connect up this morning.
      I have saved my settings from the router so I had to restore the settings from this file to get things working.
      However this router should not be defaulting back to these random factory settings so I have asked Sky for a replacement.

      Is anyone having this problem with their Sky Sagem 2504n router?

      I have done some tests this morning to see what would happen if I switch the router off and on, power it down etc
      It will keep my settings after a few reboots but then it will lose them and revert back without reason to the factory ones.

      Seems a strange error, as if the router cannot keep a copy of my settings.

      Anyone had similar?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

      Sky are sending me out a replacement 2504n router.
      Hopefully I will have no problems with this one.

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,212
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 377 Times in 305 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

      I have witnessed it losing wireless passwrod once, but not really any strange goings on since Sepetember 2011 - Hopefully a new one will resolve your issues.




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    5. #4
      BroadbandKing's Avatar
      BroadbandKing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1Tb
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      304
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

      I got a new router from Sky, 2504N to replace the "faulty" one".

      However after a week of use, I switched the router off over the weekend, while I was away.
      On powering up the router, I find that the router has reset itself to factory settings!!

      I made a backup so I can easily revert back to my settings BUT this should not be happening at all!
      A router should NOT be resetting itself!
      I originally thought that the router I was given initially must have been faulty but a brand new replacement has done the same thing so I am now of the opinion that the 2504N router being given out by Sky to its customers has a major fault. IT WILL WITHOUT WARNING RESET ITSELF.

      It looks like it is unable to store the settings properly and if anyone has a 2504N router, be warned that the next time you use it, there is a big chance that it will have reset itself!

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,081
      Thanks
      828
      Thanked 2,207 Times in 2,076 Posts

      Re: Sagem 2504n resetting back to factory settings

      Did you swap the PSU as well, or are you using the PSU which was supplied with the first router?

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION