Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

    This is a discussion on Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I have 2 sagems, 1 is a 2504, one I just unpacked literally 2 minutes ago and is the N ...

    1. #1
      ryouga's Avatar
      ryouga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      I have 2 sagems, 1 is a 2504, one I just unpacked literally 2 minutes ago and is the N model

      My line stats are good but I have been having problems with seem dns related recently so often mostly yahoo takes as much as 10 seconds to load a page but most load very fast and 2 weeks ago I had an issue where for 2 days the connection randomly didnt connect to internet despite being connected wireless and even a router reboot didnt work, I had to wait about 15-30 minutes for the internet to start working so want to change dns

      This is where I get confused as the only guides online seem to be very old and list older firmwares.

      the old 2504 has 2.8sky on the router page


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      There is no generic firmware available for the newer Sagem routers.

      It is not possible to change the DNS servers, using the web interface, on any of the routers running Sky firmware. However, recent experiments have proved it is possible using the Backup file. Full details are available here-
      How to change default DNS servers on a Sagem F@ST2504n Router

      Note that this may not work if you are on a MER connection.

      Failing this, the only way to do it is on your individual devices, which over rides the router settings.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      ryouga's Avatar
      ryouga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      There is no generic firmware available for the newer Sagem routers.

      It is not possible to change the DNS servers, using the web interface, on any of the routers running Sky firmware. However, recent experiments have proved it is possible using the Backup file. Full details are available here-
      How to change default DNS servers on a Sagem F@ST2504n Router

      Note that this may not work if you are on a MER connection.

      Failing this, the only way to do it is on your individual devices, which over rides the router settings.
      Thanks for that but my original router is a regular 2504 and my new one is 2504n.

      Saw a thread for the normal 2504 here but was confused on what file I needed i.e 2.8sky

      I want to give my old router to my friend as he is having problems and on talktalk currently so needs wiped.

      f@st 2504 generic firmware needed
      Last edited by ryouga; 19-03-12 at 09:34 PM.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem


      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      ryouga's Avatar
      ryouga is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      Sorry to be a pain but I have a problem, after flashing it with the W file it showed up as sagem on wireless for a minute but I accidently refreshed page instead of closing(have a refresh button on mouse) and it asked me for sky login details.

      I followed the guide but every time I try and go into maintenance it just asks me for login details again and despite putting them in the internet is down and I cant get into the flash/backup part of software even with the lan settings right.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      Try resetting the router by pushing a pin into the reset hole on the rear and holding it there for 10 seconds. Then start again.

      Note - Using wireless to flash a router is not recommended. If you are trying to flash using wireless, forget it and use ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      nickp8's Avatar
      nickp8 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Perivale
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused on flashing to generic firmware on Sagem

      Hi,

      Could someone please send me the w file for the sagem router.

      Thanks.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION