Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Infuriating!

    This is a discussion on Infuriating! within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; I cannot get Firefox to permanently remember the router admin username and password (which I know by heart anyway) on ...

    1. #1
      ZZDave's Avatar
      ZZDave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove SDHV
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Infuriating!

      I cannot get Firefox to permanently remember the router admin username and password (which I know by heart anyway) on the login box that comes up when you enter its IP address. There's a "Use password manager" tick box, which I always tick, and when I check in the list of passwords saved, it's there with the IP address - but it usually has disappeared from the list by the next time I want to login.

      Is this forgetting action deliberate (by Firefox) on failure to login - if, say, the router hasn't finished re-booting after some change, and the login fails initially?

      ZZDave


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Amaboknaai's Avatar
      Amaboknaai is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01276 Camberley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC68U
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Copped Hall
      Posts
      229
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Saving passwords in Firefox

      This is where you configure it:
      Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Infuriating!-firefox.jpg  

    4. #3
      ZZDave's Avatar
      ZZDave is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hove SDHV
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Brighton
      Posts
      27
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Yes - thanks for that. But it's not the answer to my problem - the "Remember" box there is already ticked, and has been since first using FF. It's the Netgear login box that seems to cause the problem. Firefox correctly remembers all my other passwords that it's been asked to...

      ZZDave

    5. #4
      hugsie's Avatar
      hugsie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: CMASHF
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Birmingham
      Posts
      1,485
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      happens to me to Dave

    6. #5
      sassylady's Avatar
      sassylady is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWKLAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Kings langley
      Posts
      382
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by ZZDave View Post
      Yes - thanks for that. But it's not the answer to my problem - the "Remember" box there is already ticked, and has been since first using FF. It's the Netgear login box that seems to cause the problem. Firefox correctly remembers all my other passwords that it's been asked to...

      ZZDave
      Everytime I reboot the netgear log in is requested again, on explorer also, must be a netgear problem? Also happens on other browsers, try the netgear help pages http://kbserver.netgear.com/kb_web_files/n101237.asp??

      rosie
      Rosie
      12591 kb/s Download 579 kb/s upload

    7. #6
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,188
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 56 Times in 52 Posts
      This happens to me occasionally with Internet Explorer even though I have a tool installed to remember passwords like this, every so often the password has to be typed in manually.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION