Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18
    Like Tree1Likes

    Static IP Address/Dyns Help

    This is a discussion on Static IP Address/Dyns Help within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; What browser are you using? Are you sure your phone is connected via 3G and not using your wifi?...

    1. #11
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      What browser are you using?
      Are you sure your phone is connected via 3G and not using your wifi?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      It also works with me. I have obscured your address, it is not a good idea to put it on an open forum.

      @Exdee I have deleted your pic as it also showed the address.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      jowest31 (16-06-11)

    5. #13
      jowest31's Avatar
      jowest31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      Hi

      It seems the problem was google and firefox, I seem to be able to login using Explorer thou, the next problem is I cannot connect using my phone.

      I have an andriod with google! Any suggestions??

    6. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      I was using Firefox so I am not sure how your attempt failed. There are a few FF add ons for IP cameras which you might like to investigate - among these - https://addons.mozilla.org/af/firefox/addon/ip-cam-ptz/

      There are also ones for the Android phones which you may find useful -
      IP Cam Viewer Android app review

      With regards changing your login details for DDNS. I am not sure if your address exposed long enough to do any harm, but they say once an item is published to the web, it stays there forever. There is a chance that it is archived somewhere, maybe on Google. It may be unnecessary, but to be on the safe side, change your log in details. Where your security is concerned you can never be too careful.

      Anyone following this thread should note that you should never post details of a personal nature on any forum. If you want something tested, PM a member with the details, don't post them for all to see. Many may not realize it but this forum is viewed in countries all over the world, including China, Vietnam, the old Soviet Block countries and South America, to name a few.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      jowest31 (17-06-11)

    8. #15
      jowest31's Avatar
      jowest31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      Hi

      Thanks for everyone's help, I have the internet part working but still cannot access from my phone.

      I have a IP app from the manufacturers on my andriod phone but cannot login from outside my own network.

      Do I need to be using 2G, 3G or does it not matter and and I suppose to use the numbers or the IP address or the web hosting name that Dyndns gave to me, never done this before as you can probably tell!

      Thanks in advance Jo

    9. #16
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      Quote Originally Posted by jowest31 View Post
      I have a IP app from the manufacturers on my andriod phone but cannot login from outside my own network.
      By IP app do you mean a dedicated app for android devices by the CCTV manufacturer? If yes then what's it called? Or do you mean the on Isitme suggested?

      Quote Originally Posted by jowest31 View Post
      Do I need to be using 2G, 3G or does it not matter and and I suppose to use the numbers or the IP address or the web hosting name that Dyndns gave to me, never done this before as you can probably tell!
      2G can't handle it. You definitely need 3G. The whole point of setting up the dns address is that you use it instead of your ip address.

    10. #17
      jowest31's Avatar
      jowest31 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2011
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      Hi

      I have avtech android software on my phone called EagleEyes.

      Im not sure if im putting the incorrect ip address in the wrong boxes.

      Reading through the forum, I am suppose to have webserver ip, public IP, internel IP and external IP, not to mention the camera IP!!!!!

      Could you explain whet IP are suppose to be going where? I.e which IP do I use in port forwarding, which Ip to use when testing on my phone etc. Everything seems to be working internally but still get error message on my phone, changed to 3G, turn off my wireless etc but still nothing.

      Thanks JO

    11. #18
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: Static IP Address/Dyns Help

      I've installed the eagleeyes app from the android market and it's only asking me for one ip address.

      If you want you can send me the details via PM and I can test the setup for you.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION