Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Sky today

    This is a discussion on Sky today within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; No, no extension lead....

    1. #11
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      No, no extension lead.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      Plugged it in the technicans port gained 1megabit, anything else to do?

    4. #13
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      What about the stats?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #14
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4092 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 dB 34.2 dB
      Noise Margin 6.4 dB 15.8 dB

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      You are now about up to the normal starting speeds, but as your noise margin is below the default you may even loose some of that. It looks like you have a poor external line which is not coping too well with ADSL2+. Sky will probably insist that DLM runs and finishes before they will do anything.

      The results from the Test socket show that your internal wiring is interfering with your broadband, so the best action would be to buy, fit and use a filtered faceplate. This isolates your internal wiring and gives the best broadband performance possible.
      XTE-2005 Filtered Master Faceplate - ADSL Nation

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      Ill order one, soon thanks for the quick relpys and help.

      Will post results when I recieved it.

    8. #17
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      Yeah, I took out the ring wire.

      Its now the same as the technican's port now.

      So im on 3.5 anything else to do?

    9. #18
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      Quote Originally Posted by zakcng View Post
      Yeah, I took out the ring wire.

      Its now the same as the technican's port now.

      So im on 3.5 anything else to do?
      Nothing else you can do, you have a fairly poor line. You've gone from 2.5 to 4mb though which is nearly double.

    10. #19
      zakcng's Avatar
      zakcng is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4822 kbps 874 kbps
      Line Attenuation 56.5 dB 36.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.0 dB 7.2 dB

      Yes.

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky today

      That is an excellent speed for your attenuation. Your noise margins look good, so I think you will stay with that. Remember keep your router plugged in and powered up until you get confirmation that DLM has completed, you don't want to mess it up, now that you have a nice speed.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION