Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Cant connect wirelessly - Resolved

    This is a discussion on Cant connect wirelessly - Resolved within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hi, Checked through the posts on this and it seems other have had similar problems. I have a laptop with ...

    1. #1
      kevt's Avatar
      kevt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Cant connect wirelessly - Resolved

      Hi,

      Checked through the posts on this and it seems other have had similar problems. I have a laptop with an Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG network card. Windows detects my wireless network and when I try to access it I enter my password and click 'Connect'. After about 1 minute the connect attempt stops, but the network is not connected. I'm sure I entered the key right (I copied/pasted it from the router wireless network page). I got Auto 108 set and UPnP switched off, but no go. I've tried both Windows and Intel PROSetWireless as controllers. Anyone got any ideas?

      Note, I can happily connect to my neighbours unprotected router. So I don't think anything is wrong with my wireless network card.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Hi Kev

      What Security Options are you using WEP or WPA-PSK, also are the network card drivers uptodate ?
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    4. #3
      kevt's Avatar
      kevt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I've tried various security options, Open, WEP, WPA-PSK, but no joy. The router is detected, and signal strength is high, but when I try to connect I just get a message 'Waiting for the network...' but no connection. I turned off AV and firewall just to make sure.

      Haven't updated drivers yet, but I'll give it a try.

    5. #4
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      One more thing that could cause it is another network close to you using the same channel, do you see any others that could be doing this ?

      If so try changing back to g & b and going to a higher channel in the router.
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

    6. #5
      kevt's Avatar
      kevt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      11
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Wheelie, you are da man

      Tried updating the driver. After lots of searching finally found and installed newer driver. Still no luck.

      Then, as you suggested, tried a different channel, and wahay, connected.

      Thanks for your help.

      PS, how do I mark the thread as resolved?
      Last edited by kevt; 04-10-06 at 10:20 PM. Reason: Added the PS.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,211
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 373 Times in 304 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      PS, how do I mark the thread as resolved?
      done for you




      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

      Follow us on Twitter @skyuser

    8. #7
      Wheelie's Avatar
      Wheelie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stanmore LWSTAN
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Stanmore
      Posts
      3,424
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      Great news Kev
      Ray

      Some Advice.. Its always advisable to inform your old ISP as soon as you have migrated that you have moved.
      ______________________________________

      If you would like to know the straight line distance to your exchange then
      click here
      Would you like an idea of the possible speeds you will get with the Max Package then click here or for the Connect Package then click here

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION