Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 22

    New Sagem router,poor speed

    This is a discussion on New Sagem router,poor speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; Hello. Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 48:42:38 Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time WAN PPPoA 1758455 ...

    1. #1
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Sagem router,poor speed

      Hello.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 48:42:38

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1758455 2155061 0 0 0 35:20:33
      LAN 427344 200724 0 0 0 48:42:38
      WLAN 2584838 2102485 0 0 0 48:35:16
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5920 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 6.9 db 15.0 db

      I had bad wireless problems with my Netgear router and Sky sent me a new router.The Sagem router came.
      I plugged it in and got it all set up and left it on for about 4 hours and checked my router stats and the download speed was 5200 and up was 800.
      Before the old speeds were 6800up and 800down.
      The stats i have posted were taken today and the connection speeds have been the same for 2 days now.
      How can i get the speed i was before i upgraded the router please.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      With that noise margin you can't...only thing you can do is try your test socket (assuming you have one)

      I also assume you tried changing channel on the old Netgear?
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    4. #3
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Thank you for the reply.

      With the old router i was getting faster downlaod speeds.
      About a year ago i was forced to upgrade to unlimitted broadband and after 3/5 days of DLM my speeds were about 4000.I called then up and they tweaked the settings and i got 6800 download speed.
      About xmas time the connection kept dropping and i was on a usb wireless adaptor so 3 weeks ago i got a tp-link pci wireless card and that made no difference but i was still getting 6800 speed.
      Called sky last week and they said router was faulty and sent a new one.
      All i have done is swapped the router.All cables,filters,ethernet cable and wireless are the same.
      On the old router i was on channel 6 and i am on the same on the new one.
      I ran inssider and the nearest channels to mine are 3/4 channels away and no overlap.
      I was getting 6800 before so i think i should still be getting them now.

    5. #4
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      As I said before, with that default noise margin you won't get any more so try your test socket if you have one and repost stats
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      It is quite possibly down to the different chipsets in the Netgear and Sagem routers. I find I can get about 700kbps better from a DG934G than I do with my DG834GT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      As i have said before i have got faster download speeds than i have now.
      Las year when i got a new router i posted on here about my low speeds and i have copied and pasted what i put.
      Re: Same speed after upgrade

      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

      I got my new router and set it up at the weekend.
      When i set it up to what it was before when using homeplugs through ethernet/LAN i was getting only 3.2mb download. My Uli card has the latest drivers and i am using Windows 7.
      About a year ago i was using wireless and was having no end of problems and when my next door neighbour got BT hub/vision installed i could not get a good reception from any channel so i bought homeplugs and all was well.
      When i installed the the new router i done a speed test and i only got 3.2 download.I went back to wireless and i was getting just over 5.4 download.When i download a torrent file i get 650kb speed.
      I thought wired was faster.Is there anything i can do to get faster speeds through homeplugs.My new router stats are:

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 7546999 9441021 0 9160 14635 73:34:39
      LAN 100M/Full 3109779 3459908 0 4801 3501 120:09:56
      WLAN 54M 2591211 1924829 0 16597 4347 47:13:57
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6400 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db
      Thank you for any help.
      Vince.
      As you can see they are higher than what i am getting now.
      when i connected the new router do you think that i may have been put on DLM ?.
      I do not have a master socket just 2 wires from the telegraph pole into a sBT socket.

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Plug your old netgear in and see what it syncs at.

      As you are still on G.DMT, I doubt if DLM is running.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      I dont know if G.DMT on my line.
      Here are the router status stats if that helps.

      Firmware Version 2.8Sky

      ADSL Port

      Network Type PPPoA
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.255
      Gateway IP Address 87.87.248.21
      Domain Name Server 90.207.238.97 90.207.238.99

      LAN Port
      MAC Address 98:8b:5d:eb:55:1e
      IP Address 192.168.0.1
      DHCP enable
      IP Subnet Mask 255.255.255.0

      Modem
      ADSL Firmware Version A2pB023o.d20h
      Modem Status Up
      DownStream Connection Speed 5408
      UpStream Connection Speed 800
      VPI 0
      VCI 38

      Wireless Port
      Name (SSID) SKY21790
      Region Europe
      Current Channel 6
      Wireless AP enable
      Broadcast Name SKY21790
      I have not put the old router in as i need to book train and plane tickets tonight and want a stable connection.Will try old router later on in the morning.

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is online now Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      That shows the Status of the router not the statistics. The previous stats you posted show you are on G.DMT.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Here are the latest stats.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 59:41:42

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 120899 99541 0 84 80 5:41:24
      LAN 429213 201036 0 0 0 59:41:42
      WLAN 2849103 2360182 0 0 98 7:21:54
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 5408 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44.0 db 27.0 db
      Noise Margin 7.0 db 14.0 db
      Poll Interval: (secs)

      I have had Sky broadband for 3.5 years.
      My exchange is Leagrave.
      How would swapping a router put me on G.DMT and why would that make any difference to my line speeds.
      Vince

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION