Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 22

    New Sagem router,poor speed

    This is a discussion on New Sagem router,poor speed within the Sky Router forums, part of the Sky Broadband help category; When you reported the issue they might have changed it, adsl2+ might give you a bit more speed...

    1. #11
      IWasNotTheEnemy's Avatar
      IWasNotTheEnemy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWWIL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Now TV
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      9,374
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 122 Times in 121 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      When you reported the issue they might have changed it, adsl2+ might give you a bit more speed
      -------------------------------------------



      Useful Sticky: - How To Obtain Your Router Stats, BT Speed Test, Check For Test Socket


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      How would swapping a router put me on G.DMT and why would that make any difference to my line speeds.
      According to your old stats in post 6, you have always been on G.DMT, its not just since you changed routers.

      I have suggested your line speed has changed due to the chipsets in your router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Thanks for all the replies.

      What do i have to do to get onto adsl2+.
      As Sky have sent me a new router i dont think they will send me a better router will they?.

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Call Sky and ask them to put your line on ADSL2+. If they say it is on it, tell them it is not, you want passed to CST. It may make little difference but it is worth a try.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      I have plugged my old Netgear router in and these are the stats.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:03:42

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 190 209 0 256 1427 00:01:47
      LAN 100M/Full 39 0 0 45 0 00:03:37
      WLAN 11M/54M 679 603 0 2421 406 00:03:25
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6368 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 10 db

      The signal is only showing 2 or 3 bars on the toolbar now.That was the reason i called Sky and told them it was losing wireless and disconnecting alot.
      I had upgraded to Sky+hd in December and i had to do Anytime+ myself as the AVC installer said that he is here install the digibox and that's it.It took 2 days before all setup.It's hooked up to powerlines.I do get faster and less disconnection if i unplug the yellow lead on the old router but if i want to use anytime i have reconnect so i leave it plugged in(old router).
      When i started this thread with the new router the setup was the same as old router.

    7. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      I think that sort of confirms that it is the router chipset which is causing the lower sync. I take it you tried changing the wireless channel in the router, preferably by using Inssider (link below) to find the most suitable one.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #17
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Thanks.

      The router is on channel 6.The nearest others are on channel 1 and channel 11 so there is no overlap of channels.The new Sagem was also on 6.
      I am still on the old router now.
      Is there a way of getting the same speed on the new router as on the old router or will have to ring Sky CST and ask for another router or to put me onto adsl2+ as i would to have a bit of an idea of what say to them and not sound stupid.
      Thank you for all the advice you have given me so far.

    9. #18
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,131
      Thanks
      64
      Thanked 1,641 Times in 1,602 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      Sky are very unlikely to send you another router because your speed has dropped by half a Mb. I can only refer you to my advice in post 14.

      If the wireless coverage of the second router is better than your old one, you could piggy back it on to the first one, to get better wireless coverage. A wireless N router would perform much better than the Sky wireless G ones. They are not that expensive, 20-30.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      http://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #19
      yorkie_pudd's Avatar
      yorkie_pudd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Intake, Sheffield
      Broadband ISP: SKy MAX (was forced adsl2+ on my netgear but god knows what i'm on now)
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Hackenthorpe, Sheffield
      Posts
      45
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      I had the same issues on a long line - the Sagem router is absolute bag of @@@@ bought a 2nd hand Netgear off ebay and its far superior.

    11. #20
      1vincent's Avatar
      1vincent is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leagrave
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Sagem router,poor speed

      I rang Sky broadband help today.
      He done a line test and asked me to unplug all but the filter and modem.Still the same speed.
      I told him about adls2+ and he said all he has heard of that sounds the same was a filter.Told me that i am not on dlm.
      He said that my line can only have speeds of 5400 due to this and that and if i was getting faster speeds it maybe due to less people using internet.
      These are the stats with the old router after the bloke done what he said on phone.

      Router StatisticsSystem Up Time: 00:40:58

      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 11924 16050 0 2169 6225 00:39:33
      LAN 100M/Full 119 0 0 10 0 00:40:54
      WLAN 11M/54M 4656 4034 0 8634 2067 00:07:21
      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6688 kbps 800 kbps
      Line Attenuation 43 db 26 db
      Noise Margin 7 db 12 db
      As you can see a lot more from what he was talkin about.I asked to be put through to CST and he said he will put a note on file and then said goodbye.

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2017. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION